Quantcast

Oxygen Cuts Shawty Lo's 'All My Babies' Mamas' After Complaints: Are You Happy or Sad?

Fef 2013/01/16 21:00:00
You!
Add Photos & Videos
ColorOfChange.org, The Parents Council, Change.org, NAACP, Sabrina Lamb and Rush Limbaugh pressured Oxygen Network to cancel its new reality show, "All My Babies’ Mamas." The show featured rapper Shawty Lo (aka Carlos Walker) who fathered 11 children with 10 different women.

ColorOfChange.org issued the following statement: After multiple conversations with Oxygen Media executives, the company informed us via email that a decision was made to cancel "All My Babies' Mamas" late this afternoon. We thank Oxygen Media for taking this important step. The tremendous response from over 40,000 ColorOfChange.org members, coupled with national outrage from Black folks, sent a clear message that exploitative television shows like "All My Babies' Mamas" are unacceptable.
What will I watch now?!?

LATIMES.COM reports:
Oxygen cuts Shawty Lo's 'All My Babies' Mamas' after complaints
shawty lo

Read More: http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/tv/showtracke...

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • TidBit 2013/01/17 02:29:09
    Happy
    TidBit
    +18
    people shouldn't prosper from breeding like stray dogs and general irresponsibly.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Q 2013/01/22 21:17:25
    Sad
    Q
    But he needs the additional income in order to make his child support payments:)
  • Y.B. 2013/01/21 05:41:29
  • Wilde~MoonChild ™ 2013/01/19 05:41:28
    Sad
    Wilde~MoonChild ™
    +1
    I don't care how many children Shawty has or how many 'baby mamas'. Like I don't care about the housewives of Any Town, USA or some hillbilly kid from some back woods with a town full of Bubbas! Most reality shows are nonsensical, a waste of time, and cause fools to think they've got some big story to tell!
    That being said, I have no idea why they would cancel it with all the other CRAP on TV! What's one more??
  • L Dub 2013/01/18 19:41:31
    Happy
    L Dub
    Why is the parade of Americas's lowest examples of exsistance what Hollywood wants to edify??? While they're at it, they ought to cancel Honey Boo Boo (and quite a few others) ; I've not watched the show, but have seen commercials for it and my kids clown the show before I get a chance to.
  • sexyleo2013 2013/01/18 17:52:53
  • rcardon 2013/01/18 17:45:13
    Happy
    rcardon
    +2
    Talk about a show we don't need. We have enough kids seeing how many people they can "get with" without having promiscuity glamorized on the television.
  • Artist~PWCM~ 2013/01/18 14:40:38
    Sad
    Artist~PWCM~
    Now how fair is that? We white people got Honey Boo Boo and Buck Wild. What's wrong with more trailer trash reality TV? Seems like a weird kind of racial sensitivity to me...hope he got paid anyway.
  • Tannie 2013/01/18 09:35:29
    Happy
    Tannie
    +3
    Im happy this show pissed me off. Im African American and quite frankly I think idiots like Shawty Lo should'nt have a show. A lot of people have baby mamas and baby daddies, yet he chooses to air his on tv, once again helping our black community fit a stereo type.. When will these people learn to grow the hell up!
  • Trans A... Tannie 2013/01/20 03:04:50
  • Nick Perry 2013/01/18 08:58:31
    Happy
    Nick Perry
    +2
    the last thing we need is another show wrapped around morons
  • JS 2013/01/18 05:28:48
    Happy
    JS
    +2
    Do whatever you want in your own life, but don't flood my television with it!
  • wolf 2013/01/18 04:53:08
    Sad
    wolf
  • jumpboots 187th PIR 2013/01/18 04:16:52
    Happy
    jumpboots 187th PIR
    +2
    Hit the road,and don't come back.
  • flowerlady112 2013/01/18 03:31:45
    Happy
    flowerlady112
    +2
    That show is a disgrace - using these children for profit. This is a sad state our country is in when a show glamourizes children born out of wedlock.
  • TXredhead 2013/01/18 00:33:01 (edited)
    Happy
    TXredhead
    +2
    That means the "10" women (which we know we could probably multiply that be at least 10) had unprotected sex with this guy.... so what else do they have in common.... yuck! shawty lo at least he knows the first 2 letters in "loser".
  • NotTargetMaterial 2013/01/18 00:04:36 (edited)
    Sad
    NotTargetMaterial
    +1
    lol. This looked like it was gonna be a fun show. I might of watched it due to the hype.

    I HATE whenever something is pulled or taken away from me. That just makes me want to watch it more. Its almost censorship that there is a show (media) out there that I won't get to see.

    Can they post the videos somewhere for people like ME who aren't offended by anything to be able to watch ???

    I'll give 10 bucks to whoever can get me these videos !!!!!

    [...]

    Edit: The above picture is MY baby momma shooting her baby into the bowl.
  • HipJipC 2013/01/17 23:18:20
    Happy
    HipJipC
    +1
    Don't know who this guy is and didn't know he had a show. Yes, it is a sad reality that so many men do this. It is just another example of the "entitled male", women are sluts and men are conquerors. It's the main reason why the human species will never really evolve.
  • MARIDOTS 2013/01/17 23:12:56
    Happy
    MARIDOTS
    +2
    not just happy but ecstatic.. this would be a waste of time, in fact, I was very disappointed in Oprah for even wanting this show on her network which is supposed to promote family ideas and women. It was the right move to scrap it.
  • The Elitist Libtard SodaJerk 2013/01/17 22:55:16
    Sad
    The Elitist Libtard SodaJerk
    +3
    Not about the show being cut. Sad at the fact that I had no Idea that this was a show or that I have no clue who Shawty Lo is. That means I'm clearly getting old.
  • Latti Ice Ganga Gangsta of ... 2013/01/17 22:12:21 (edited)
    Happy
    Latti Ice Ganga Gangsta of PHAET
    +8
    Happy they finally put one reality show where it needed to be.



    trash

    Now they can cut the other crap shows from their station.
  • JGF 2013/01/17 21:52:42
    Happy
    JGF
    +2
    This was drivel from its inception. I'm surprised the project got as far as it did.
  • Artist~... JGF 2013/01/18 14:43:01
    Artist~PWCM~
    Inception...no pun intended, lol!
  • rustyshackelford 2013/01/17 21:32:24
  • Diana 2013/01/17 21:31:36
    Happy
    Diana
    +4
    I signed that petition besides the displaying of negative stereotypes that the majority of African Americans do not prescribe to, it's also setting the children who have no choice in where and how they are born for years of embarrassment. What happened to uplifting television shows? Oh wait they sold out for ratings. SMDH.
  • Dwight 2013/01/17 20:40:47
    Happy
    Dwight
    +3
    Why would we want to glamorize such irresponsible behaviour by giving them a TV show?
  • James 2013/01/17 20:18:49
    Happy
    James
    +1
    it's a step in the right direction.
  • Dickens 2013/01/17 20:08:52 (edited)
    Happy
    Dickens
    +3
    ...I guess America just wasn't ready for a show about some idiot rapper and his "ho's"...
  • 001 2013/01/17 19:52:43
    Happy
    001
    +3
    I'm happy to see people care enough to officially complain about this.
  • Jared Fremlin 2013/01/17 19:15:33
    Sad
    Jared Fremlin
    Never had a chance to see it. Looks like it would have been a great insight into big families.... =\
  • ironhat Jared F... 2013/01/18 03:56:06
    ironhat
    +1
    It's not a big family. it's 10, single mother families in 10 different houses.
  • dave b 2013/01/17 19:10:35
    Happy
    dave b
    +5
    Now if "Teen Mom" would just go away....one thing this country doesnt need is to put this kind of trash on tv.
  • Opal Marie 2013/01/17 17:09:50
    Happy
    Opal Marie
    +6
    This is so ridiculous! Most people already have a preconceived notion that black women are the ones raising the children and the men are nowhere to be found. This person is just perpetuation the stereotype which is making it ok for black me to be this way.

    NOT ALL BLACK MEN FATHER BABIES AND LEAVE. SOME ARE THERE FROM THE VERY BEGINNING PROVIDING FOR THERE CHILDREN.
  • polock 2013/01/17 16:30:14
    Happy
    polock
    +5
    why glorify this relationship with multiple women and kids when we the people are paying for it. Families comsisting of 2 responsible parents, not simply a sperm donor, are what mad America strong. now we simply pay women to have bastard kids, I guess because it Feels Good. where are the fathers and when will they accept responsibility?
  • John Wa... polock 2013/01/17 22:06:02
    John Walker II
    They exist and can be found if people would actually stop and take the blinders off once in a while.

    Deadbeat dads are NOT the norm, despite what the media and other sources like to claim.
  • Manster 2013/01/17 16:26:35
    Happy
    Manster
    +7
    The end of ANY reality tv program is cause for a celebration! YIPPEE!
  • Ron Hanforth 2013/01/17 15:37:11
    Happy
    Ron Hanforth
    +8
    yeah, let's celebrate morons breeding like friggin rats ...let's celebrate teen moron moms, and honey boo boos. The Idiocracy is already here, so what the hell..enjoy your soma holiday, morons.
  • Unknown1 2013/01/17 15:27:37
    Happy
    Unknown1
    +6
    I'm glad this show didn't make it. Networks also need to ditch all the other reality shows. Most of it is scripted anyway. I don't watch reality/talk shows, but our future generations don't need to be polluted with anymore RATCHET TRASH!
  • Manster Unknown1 2013/01/17 16:28:21
  • studiob... Manster 2013/01/17 16:34:37
    studiobrat  PWCM AFCL
    +2
    Yes, we do!!
  • Manster studiob... 2013/01/18 14:51:44
    Manster
    +1
    Thanks! Don't you sometimes wonder about the producers who think programming like this is a "good idea"? How in blazes did those people get hired? Are they related to someone at the network? Or do they have photos of the network executives in compromising situations? :-)

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/02 08:17:40

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals