Quantcast

OPINION: Real Women Who Have Curves Are Hot

Melinda Miles 2010/09/02 15:00:00
You!
Add Photos & Videos
It's an argument that's as old as the fashion industry and Hollywood combined. Do men want a thin Twiggy-like, boyish woman with a chest as flat as an ironing board or do they want a voluptuous woman a la Kim Kardashian?

Ladies, the days of starving ourselves and exercising three times a day to look like photoshopped stick figures and/or attract the opposite sex may be over.

New research shows that when deciding whether a woman is attractive, the number one factor men consider is her waist-to-hop ratio, with 70 percent being ideal.

This is why old photos of Marilyn Monroe (and Wonder Woman) still get men's hearts racing -- both had that optimal 0.7 ratio. Monroe, however, as model-actress Elizabeth Hurley once pointed out, would be considered "fat" by today's standards. Thanks for bursting our bubble, Hurley.

As a woman whose curvy hips and thighs don't fit so perfectly into a pair of skinny jeans, I can attest that men like curves. A lot.

Luckily, I've been blessed with a small-ish waist (at least relative to the hips) -- and I watch what I eat to maintain it. And while my body may not look fab in the aforementioned skinny jeans, in an evening gown or knee-length cocktail dress, it looks red-carpet ready.

Why? Dresses were meant to accentuate a "real" woman's body -- one with a chest, one with a derriere and one with some hip action.

There have been reports lately that "Mad Men" has brought back the era of form-fitting, womanly clothing, and -- all hail Christina Hendricks! -- womanly bodes. Women are jumping at the chance to wear flattering pencil skirts and blouses, not to mention granny panties.

Why? Women like myself are sick of dressing to hide the fact that we have curves.

I admit I sometimes look enviously upon girls who can pull off the skinny-jeans-with-Converse look. But how much of that comes from pressure from other women? Science has proven: Men like curves! And when I put on a dress, I am so glad I have the shape to fill it out.

Do You Think Curvy Women Are Sexy?

Read More: http://www.asylum.com/2010/08/30/waist-to-hip-rati...

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • _h0n01_ 2013/10/14 19:07:23
    Yes, curves are hot
    _h0n01_
    yes it's definitely hot but it's wrong to discriminate skinny girls, I have inverted triangle body shape which is very inappropriate, wide shoulder, undefined waist and narrow hips and it' sucks to have it. I envy those girls who have their hips wide, but then I realized that it's not the eyes who falls inlove but the heart does, therefore it doesn't really matter if the girl you are dating has wide or narrow hips.
  • Nick 2013/09/01 07:44:09
    Yes, curves are hot
    Nick
    How is flaunting a healthy body weight, and being gorgeous at the same time not sexy to any straight guy?

    curves  healthy  beautiful
  • asilvadolla83 2013/01/03 05:49:42
  • AndyBoy 2012/08/02 18:30:06
    Yes, curves are hot
    AndyBoy
    I prefer a very large, fat, obese woman to be with. Curves on curves!
  • hgababu 2012/06/29 05:54:01 (edited)
    Yes, curves are hot
    hgababu
    Im tired of these girls that when ur on lunch and u see a sandwich that's 250 calories and u say oh here's a low cal sandwich to a girl and they say that's half my daily limit
  • hgababu hgababu 2012/06/29 05:55:49 (edited)
    hgababu
    right
  • MDC 2012/02/12 04:58:09 (edited)
    No, I prefer skinny women
    MDC
    +1
    I've always found the "Real Women Have Curves" thing rude, offensive, insulting and ignorant. Real women have the human female reproductive system. I wasn't blessed with big boobs, a small waist, big hips and shapely legs, yet I still feel quite real. I think that Marilyn Monroe and Rita Hayworth had beautiful bodies, but I think that Audrey Hepburn and Grace Kelly had beautiful bodies too.

    And in my opinion, this is sexist. We women just live to attract men? That's why we should all be curvy? And why is the fact that men prefer curvier girls makes other girls ugly? I don't starve myself. I was just born with small hips and a small chest and an undefined waist. And I would never wear Converse, I actually prefer pencil skirts and blouses (and I still wear granny panties), even if I am not curvy. I don't feel like I need to be attractive to men to be a "real woman". This is just more proof that boyish bodies will never be accepted like everone says they are.

    audrey hepburn
    grace kelly skinny

    twiggy clothes
  • hgababu MDC 2012/06/29 05:55:16
    hgababu
    +1
    Why u gotta be such a hater?
  • MDC hgababu 2012/06/29 20:44:04
    MDC
    Who said I hated curvy women? I clearly stated that curvy shapes are beautiful, but skinny shapes are beautiful too. I don't love this ongoing war about bodies.
  • Anna Newman 2011/11/26 19:01:26
    Yes, curves are hot
    Anna Newman
    I like curves, but I think i'm fat. I am 5'3 and a size 3, am I fat? Please don't be mad I just think I am.
  • cornelia.bailey83 2011/09/17 19:15:31
    Yes, curves are hot
    cornelia.bailey83
    +1
    I believe woman with curves are hot,curves is what makes a woman.
  • Rick 2011/05/13 09:18:14 (edited)
    Yes, curves are hot
    Rick
  • forkia 2011/04/30 20:48:01
    No, I prefer skinny women
    forkia
    I hope that will make more photos of skinny women
  • forkia 2011/04/30 14:55:57
    No, I prefer skinny women
    forkia
    i love skinny women they are my life
  • kyle 2011/04/18 21:59:39
    Yes, curves are hot
    kyle
  • DianaD.Bryson 2011/02/10 17:36:19
    Yes, curves are hot
    DianaD.Bryson
    +1
    Look at me! Curves are incredibly hot! No men want a hanger! (no offense)
  • norml 2010/11/30 16:16:43
    Yes, curves are hot
    norml
    THICKNESS RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!...
  • TheNightFly 2010/09/07 18:27:38
    Yes, curves are hot
    TheNightFly
    +1
    Natural curves, not rolls of flab. Medium tits, small waste, wide hips, flat belly = hot, but very rare.

    flab medium tits waste wide hips flat belly hot rare
    flab medium tits waste wide hips flat belly hot rare
  • metalli... TheNigh... 2010/09/13 05:32:37
    metallichick!
    +4
    eww she's fake!her boobs arent real!cuz look at her hips they're too small & her boobs are ginormous!they look very fake!& the 2nd one her ribs are showing!where's the curviness??:S
  • TheNigh... metalli... 2010/09/14 01:42:36 (edited)
    TheNightFly
    I know but they were the closest examples I could find on google image search. ;p
  • hgababu TheNigh... 2012/06/29 05:51:09
  • vanessafromdc 2010/09/07 17:50:42
    Yes, curves are hot
    vanessafromdc
    I don't look like I'm starvin like Marvin....Lls
  • Jon 2010/09/07 17:16:52 (edited)
    Yes, curves are hot
    Jon
    They're hot, regardless of whether or not their bodies are hot and sweaty But the same is true,
    about skinny women, and I prefer them!

    . curves hot hot bodies hot sweaty
  • Jules 2010/09/07 17:07:32
    Yes, curves are hot
    Jules
    there is a difference between curves and fat, curves lines the body and makes it better while fat is just that- fat. A lot of famous people have curves and they are called beautiful, like Beyonce she has curves and everyone is always talking about how gorgeous she is.
  • Billyk75 2010/09/07 16:00:24
    Yes, curves are hot
    Billyk75
    I prefer a rubinesque type in other words a little plump.
  • PapaBC 2010/09/07 15:28:16
    Yes, curves are hot
    PapaBC
    But fat is not.
  • dhellew2 2010/09/07 14:41:34
    Yes, curves are hot
    dhellew2
    +1
    Bone showing Skinny is ugly.
  • John T. 2010/09/07 13:42:01
    Yes, curves are hot
    John T.
    +3
    Anorexic women are not very sexy. Real women have curves.
  • Mikeyandmadgelover 2010/09/07 11:21:17
    Yes, curves are hot
    Mikeyandmadgelover
    +3
    Look at these famous ladies: curves hot famous ladies curves hot famous ladies
  • v-girl 2010/09/07 08:03:55
    Yes, curves are hot
    v-girl
    duh why wouldnt curves be hot!!
    curves hot duh curves hot
  • Nabael 2010/09/07 07:40:30
    Yes, curves are hot
    Nabael
    +1
    My woman has some mean curves, and that is the way it should be. I don't want to date someone who looks like a 12 year old boy.
  • Illjwamh 2010/09/07 06:33:55
    Yes, curves are hot
    Illjwamh
    +5
    I've always thought this was a given. I don't know where the idea of men liking ultra-skinny women came from, and I'm half inclined to believe women themselves imagined it and then propagated it as common wisdom.

    Hot:
    liking ultra-skinny women inclined women imagined propagated common wisdom hot liking ultra-skinny women inclined women imagined propagated common wisdom hot liking ultra-skinny women inclined women imagined propagated common wisdom hot

    Not:
    http://all4women.co.za/files.... women inclined women imagined propagated common wisdom hot httpall4women zafiles

    That's frickin' gross, actually.
  • wolfsan11 Illjwamh 2010/09/07 12:35:26
    wolfsan11
    +2
    Ok that anorexic lady's clothes just look like censor bars D:
  • John T. wolfsan11 2010/09/07 13:57:30
    John T.
    +2
    The ultra look for women come from the fashion industry. It is easier for them to design everything in one size so people are directed to the clothing and not the model.
  • wolfsan11 John T. 2010/09/08 04:55:33
    wolfsan11
    So its like they're saying anorexia is fashionable :|
  • John T. wolfsan11 2010/09/12 11:20:05
    John T.
    Anorexia is deadely.
  • wolfsan11 John T. 2010/09/12 14:45:07
    wolfsan11
    ...I know.
  • cocoa 2010/09/07 03:44:40
    Yes, curves are hot
    cocoa
    +5
    As a friend once wisely commented, who wants to sleep with a cricket? Hugging a skinny woman is like wrapping your arms around a box of rocks. If you wander through any art museum and look at the volupous women in the paintings, they were meant to cuddled. Not to mention how much fun it is to share a pizza and a shake!
  • mickrussom 2010/09/07 03:41:39
    No, I prefer skinny women
    mickrussom
    Curves to a point, like size 4-ish.
  • Topcount345 2010/09/07 02:40:57 (edited)
    Yes, curves are hot
    Topcount345
    +6
    Hell yeah curves definitely bring on the appeal =D . Skinny is no where near as attractive.

    I'll add in I don't think boob jobs are necessary!
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 20 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/25 19:54:17

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals