Quantcast

If Domino's Classed Up Their Act, Would It Change Your Opinion of Them?

mrosen814 2012/08/17 19:00:00
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Domino's is attempting to reinvent their brand as an artisan pizza house, putting their pizzaiolas in the spotlight. But can the company ever change its fast-food type vibe?

The LA Times reports that: "Domino's eateries will begin to incorporate comfortable lobby areas as well as ordering kiosks and boards that track to-go orders electronically. Customers will be able to draw or leave feedback on chalk boards placed around the stores, which may also feature big-screen televisions."

Their logo is also getting a facelift, with the noticeable change being the removal of the word "pizza". Their justification for this, is that their menu encompasses way more than pizza, including cheesy sticks, bread bites, bread sticks, cinnamon bread sticks and more.

SLICE.SERIOUSEATS.COM reports:
The Domino's transformation continues. In keeping with the company's evolution into "artisanal" pizza making, the facade will now match, well, the facade.
facade moving delivery driven chain concept dominos creating pizza theaters

Read More: http://slice.seriouseats.com/archives/2012/08/the-...

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • WWZ Captain 2012/08/18 16:01:34
    Yes
    WWZ Captain
    +8
    I clicked NO, on top of having flat out horrible food, every image I have of DOMINOS is this video...

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • WWZ Cap... stevegt... 2012/08/18 23:25:22
  • John Wa... WWZ Cap... 2012/08/20 10:08:28
    John Walker II
    I think it's two people out of the /thousands/ that work in the domino's food chain that were well out of line and are now getting punished for it.

    I'm glad those two are gone.

    As far as her rap sheet getting brought up.. standard fare for investigative reporters.
  • bye 2012/08/18 15:45:28
    No
    bye
    Unless they made a restaurant out of it! Served more then just Pizza
  • Anonymouse ~superdoge~ 2012/08/18 15:14:57 (edited)
    No
    Anonymouse ~superdoge~
    +1
    Same with McDonalds. They can give their restaurants a classy makeover, but they still have crappy food and a creepy paedo clown as a mascot...
  • Inquisi... Anonymo... 2012/08/19 23:32:00
    Inquisitve Kat
    I'll give McDonald's one thing, and one thing only... they have good, cheap, coffee.
  • serethiel 2012/08/18 12:52:50
    No
    serethiel
    i've never eaten there and that won't change.
  • Nu Joisey 2012/08/18 12:43:15
    No
    Nu Joisey
    Ever since Domino's hated on Snooki & Jersey Shore I would never give them business again.
  • Inquisi... Nu Joisey 2012/08/19 23:37:03
    Inquisitve Kat
    Wow... really?

    What did they do? I had no idea such a thing happened.
  • LdyLeo 2012/08/18 12:37:22
    No
    LdyLeo
    Their attitudes suck just like their cheap pizza.
  • Beat Magnum True Hero 2012/08/18 12:04:40 (edited)
    No
    Beat Magnum True Hero
    +3
    I worked there for 4 years as a driver and I actually loved that job (compared to the other "big two" that I had the misfortune of working for). We were slinging cheap pizzas, but I delivered a lot of them and made a lot of cash. Also, they actually give their part time drivers health insurance and 401K. Not a lot of fast food joints offer that. As much as everyone hated on our pizza, I still made $20/hr in tips. I was a good driver, I was fast, and I had a lot of customers. Now my brother works there and he makes good money.

    Domino's is a fast delivery place. They even tell you in training that they don't consider their pizza gourmet, but the company philosophy has always been fast and friendly service.
  • Mikey 2012/08/18 11:49:47
    No
    Mikey
    +1
    It's still pizza. And all that it implies
  • Wolfman 2012/08/18 10:35:47
    Yes
    Wolfman
    +2
    I like Domino's pizza and cinnamon bread. A place to eat it fresh and hot will be a plus. I'll try their other stuff. The place is always clean.
  • Elizabeth 2012/08/18 08:00:03
    Yes
    Elizabeth
    +3
    i know most people voted NO but you all are CRAZY, i'm sorry. they have tables where you can eat outside, the building looks cool and the food is awesome. I would love to eat somewhere like that, sorry thats just my opinion.
  • Mikey Elizabeth 2012/08/18 11:56:39
    Mikey
    +2
    You're being suckered by some slick makeover to eat the same old five dollar pizza at mall prices but WE'RE crazy? Honey they PRAY for people like you.
  • Beat Ma... Mikey 2012/08/18 12:06:31
    Beat Magnum True Hero
    +2
    As a former driver, I don't. I prayed for people who were hungry but too tired to cook or leave the house. Dine in customers would have been less money for me.
  • Elizabeth Mikey 2012/08/18 13:12:33
    Elizabeth
    i'm taking this as offensive.
  • thє вlu... Elizabeth 2012/08/18 13:48:11
  • Anonymo... thє вlu... 2012/08/18 15:17:52
    Anonymouse ~superdoge~
    +1
    I think she's a bit temperamental...
  • WWZ Cap... Elizabeth 2012/08/18 16:03:15
    WWZ Captain
    +1
    "I'm taking this as offensive" ? what in the hell does that mean ?
  • Mikey Elizabeth 2012/08/18 17:18:27
    Mikey
    But you calling people who don't agree with you 'crazy' is not offensive?
  • thє вlu... Mikey 2012/08/18 19:24:10 (edited)
  • MOMMA THOMAS 2012/08/18 06:54:09
    No
    MOMMA THOMAS
    'FRAID NOT!
  • duns 2012/08/18 06:10:56
    No
    duns
    +3
    As long as their pizza tastes good, I don't mind.
  • Michaela★ 2012/08/18 05:48:20
    No
    Michaela★
    +1
    If Hitler changed his wardrobe, maybe started wearing like a peace sign on his shirt or something, would that change our opinion? Nope, He'd still be a crazy bastard. Dont get me wrong Dominos isnt bad but it's really not nearly good enough to try and be'fancy'. But in all honesty, I couldn't care less anyway. Maybe it might draw in more of a crowd, maybe it won't do much at all.
  • ellomotto Michaela★ 2012/08/18 06:55:20 (edited)
    ellomotto
    +5
    You're comparing Pizza to Hitler?
    Confused
  • Michaela★ ellomotto 2012/08/18 17:17:07
    Michaela★
    I knew someone would complain about that. No, obviously not, I was making a point, please dont take it so seriously its not like I was saying anything at all good about hitler nor was I comparing him to freaking pizza, I was just trying to make a point, I'm sorry.
  • ellomotto Michaela★ 2012/08/18 17:19:47 (edited)
    ellomotto
    +1
    Trust me I didn't take your post seriously, I just don't see the connection of Hitler to pizza... trust post connection hitler pizza
  • Michaela★ ellomotto 2012/08/18 17:24:22
    Michaela★
    Good because my post wasnt intended to be taken so seriously, I never meant for it to seem I was connecting Hitler to Pizza because I really wasn't. Maybe you didn't understand or maybe I could have worded it better.
  • thє вlu... ellomotto 2012/08/18 19:26:31
  • ellomotto thє вlu... 2012/08/18 22:38:57
    ellomotto
    Ha good one, but he never stated that the pizza was pepperoni, so his connection is still invalid to me
  • bleep 2012/08/18 05:16:21
    Yes
    bleep
    Last time I had a pizza at dominoes. It tasted like cardboard. Abbies pizza is the best. Woodburn OR.
  • Bibliophilic 2012/08/18 05:02:35 (edited)
    Yes
    Bibliophilic
    +3
    Still better than Papa Johns and Little Caesar's (indie pizza joints are better though). Also homemade pizza-mmmmm. I like delivery pizza, but it's possible to get better food. I'm not going to pay more for the same pizza though. I always like to see a business 'spruced up'.
  • Mikey Bibliop... 2012/08/18 12:01:19
    Mikey
    +1
    Uh, how about trying pizza not mass marketed to millions? Where's the fun in always eating something that tastes exactly like what you had last week and the month before and the year before?
  • Anonymo... Mikey 2012/08/18 15:19:23
    Anonymouse ~superdoge~
    +1
    There's a lovely little family run pizzeria in town, you can watch the chef flipping and spinning the dough and cooking it... Delicious!
  • Bibliop... Mikey 2012/08/18 16:39:46
    Bibliophilic
    +2
    Well yeah, that's why I said that I prefer indie pizza places. But then again when I crave pizza- any variety will do!
  • Inquisi... Bibliop... 2012/08/19 23:44:14
    Inquisitve Kat
    We just got a Papa Johns (well, two of them) within the past few years... still haven't tried them, since they cost so much. I find Domino's has the same issue (costs way too much).

    Little Caesar's is terrible pizza, but it's nice and cheap. I tend to only eat from local pizza places, but I find Little Caesar's is the only kind I can afford. So, I just never eat pizza. lol
  • moomoof 2012/08/18 04:43:40
    No
    moomoof
    Their pizza still is rubber
    The fact they admitted is infuriating
  • Raithere 2012/08/18 04:04:01
    No
    Raithere
    +2
    Please. I'm from Chicago. Domino's is not pizza, neither is Pappa John's. It's a cardboard flavored pizza replica primarily eaten by drunken college students at 3 AM and poor sods who don't have a real pizzeria in town.
  • Mikey Raithere 2012/08/18 12:03:25
    Mikey
    +1
    At last! Calling this mass market crap pizza is like calling Taco Bel Mexican food.
  • Raithere Mikey 2012/08/18 17:32:03
    Raithere
    Perfect example!

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/25 20:43:31

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals