Quantcast

FHM Magazine (Philippines Edition) Pulls March Cover After Complaints: Is It Racist?

Living 2012/02/27 22:17:13
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Get ready to be offended. The Philippines edition of British lad mag FHM has pulled its March cover and issued an apology following complaints of racism, The Telegraph reports. The questionable cover shows Filipina actress Bela Padilla in a pink bikini surrounded by black models in black bikinis with the cover line: "Bela Padilla stepping out of the shadows." Yikes.



FHM admitted there were "a slew of comments on the supposed 'racism' of the cover image and cover line" after the original cover was uploaded to the magazine's Facebook page on Saturday, leading them to come up with a new cover.

"When FHM hits the stands in March it will have a different cover. We deem this to be the most prudent move in the light of the confusion over the previous cover execution," said a statement from Summit Media, the magazine's publishers, according to The Telgraph. "We apologize and thank those who have raised their points. We apologize to Bela Padilla for any distress this may have caused her. In our pursuit to come up with edgier covers, we will strive to be more sensitive next time."

Padilla, a 20-year-old soap opera star, also apologized for her participation. "The concept was stepping out of MY inhibitions, MY fears, MY shadows. Not bashing a certain race," she tweeted. Do you find the cover racist? Or at least insensitive?
Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • Bibliophilic 2012/02/27 23:33:29 (edited)
    Yes
    Bibliophilic
    +20
    It's offensive, because the dark skinned models are clearly staring at the light skinned woman in a worshipful (or jealous) manner (they are objects, servants- but she is the queen and the center of attention). Also, the phrase ' stepping out of the shadows' is ridiculous. Whoever designed this should be fired. Do designers not think about the message they want to send when creating such depictions?

    It's culturally/ethnically insensitive, but as for definitely racist- I am uncertain. I will say that this cover is not flattering to the women to the left and right of the model nor the designers who created the image. I do not want dark skinned or black women to be objectified- when an act/depiction removes the humanity of a person based on his/her race, then yes it is racist whether you like it or not. Can you not see this- even if you are not of minority descent? How would you like to be portrayed in this manner?

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • blackrings70 2012/02/28 14:16:11
    No
    blackrings70
    +2
    Sigh, eye roll, NO.
  • Patric 2012/02/28 14:04:31
    No
    Patric
    +2
    yikes, ok, all the race baiters, all the race card pullers,, get a life,

    damn, it is a skin mag.. damn,

    of all the silly things , they got their panties all bunched up on this ??

    the lib's are a strange lot , yes they are...
  • Angelika Insomniac 2012/02/28 13:52:01
    No
    Angelika Insomniac
    +2
    *sigh* No.
  • Shigyrl but outspoken on my... 2012/02/28 13:07:09
    No
    Shigyrl but outspoken on my future
    +5
    I don't think racism was the intent. One of the models isn't even black. The painted her body dark. In reality the other women were used as props.
  • Redneck 2012/02/28 12:05:45
    No
    Redneck
    +2
    Crap, I meant yes. I'm not one to jump up and holler racist, but "coming out of the shadows"? yeah, that's not right.
  • Luke 2012/02/28 11:57:37
    No
    Luke
    +2
    PC gone wild!!!
  • Diana Luke 2012/02/28 12:50:45
    Diana
    How is it being PC? It's not by definition racist but its certainly offended, as if black women in the media aren't already getting bad press here's something to fuel the fire. Also not everything is always offensive when it involves race. For instance everyone is making a big fuss over BIlly Crystal who was in blackface at the oscars. And I don't see the big deal there. But this cover is completely degrading.
  • Radical Ed 2012/02/28 10:49:41
    No
    Radical Ed
    +4
    people read too much into things. its as if they want to get offended *gasp*
  • Glee_ky 2012/02/28 10:48:25
    Yes
    Glee_ky
    It kinda is...
  • Bob DiN Glee_ky 2012/02/29 11:56:29
    Bob DiN
    Kinda? PC run wild is more like it.
  • KazelyndeCastro 2012/02/28 10:48:09
    No
    KazelyndeCastro
    +5
    it is not...the cover, as bella said, was a portrayal of how she is now free...the girls were just used as figurative..
  • Diana Kazelyn... 2012/02/28 12:51:26
    Diana
    Free from what? Not having dark skin?
  • Patric Diana 2012/02/28 14:06:01
    Patric
    +2
    wow, reading your posts,
    all that hatred, does it consume your daily life ?
  • Diana Patric 2012/02/28 20:52:44
    Diana
    What hatred? I'm actually a really happy person :).
  • Kazelyn... Diana 2012/03/20 09:59:44
    KazelyndeCastro
    she's born with that skin..she was a shy actress at first...and now she is more comfortable with herself..that's the free i would like to say...:)
  • (>*~*)>... Kazelyn... 2012/02/28 14:29:24
    (>*~*)>Zombiecat<(*-*<)
    +1
    exactly.
  • La 2012/02/28 09:36:17
    No
    La
    +5
    I don't see how it could be construed as racist :/
  • THAT WAS FUN 2012/02/28 09:01:48
  • Jim 2012/02/28 08:35:45
    No
    Jim
    +11
    This is yet another example of political correctness gone crazy. The black models are not looking at Bela in a worshipful manner. Two of them aren't really looking at her at all. And since when does stepping out of the shadows have anything to do with racism? Yes, sometimes models are used more as props than as the central focus. That is the job they were PAID to do. If a black model was the center of attention and there were three white or light skinned models behind her, people would get laughed at for calling it racist.
  • jas wats 2012/02/28 08:23:58
    No
    jas wats
    +5
    Because you're an idiot if think this is racism. Look in a dictionary.
  • greg 2012/02/28 08:14:14
    Yes
    greg
    it's tacky at best
  • Red_Horse 2012/02/28 07:22:11 (edited)
  • Patric Red_Horse 2012/02/28 14:07:40
    Patric
    +2
    you got tricked also ?
    me too.

    you know if there is a black people involved with some thing and also a white person,
    there gots to be som racist thing going on.... gots to ...
  • Red_Horse Patric 2012/02/28 22:06:47
  • jayskie.ender 2012/02/28 07:19:03
    No
    jayskie.ender
    +2
    Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. Bela deserved to be on the cover of the magazine!! Such a stunner!! But where the hell is Edward?? or Jacob?? haha
  • Axe Grinder 2012/02/28 06:33:48
    No
    Axe Grinder
    +4
    All I see is some very sexy women on this cover ! Are we losing our minds ??
  • Mary 2012/02/28 06:20:33 (edited)
    No
    Mary
    +2
    No...But I would find it EXTREMELY offensive it Obama's ugly face was on the cover!
  • no one here 2012/02/28 05:58:12
    No
    no one here
    +4
    That Gal is so beautiful I could not understand why People thought it was in bad taste. Then after I re-read noticed the African Gals and thought, wow, they have some good body's. My reaction as a man is how beautiful and had nothing to do with prejudice or color of skin. Reminded me of these Philippine gals I met on the Coast. Really beautiful gals.... A shadow for me is the dark side, and not the dark side of an alternative world but one here, sensu Jung...
  • chamchamgal 2012/02/28 05:53:08
    No
    chamchamgal
    +2
    It's for Philippines, if you ever go to the country you would understand the meaning of the cover.
  • the_old_coach 2012/02/28 05:48:35
    No
    the_old_coach
    +6
    Oh, COME ON!

    Where does anyone see racism in this? Does anyone actually KNOW what REAL racism is anymore?
  • Diana the_old... 2012/02/28 12:57:01
    Diana
    +1
    Not necessarily racist I agree but insensitive yes.
  • Patric the_old... 2012/02/28 14:09:33
    Patric
    +2
    yes, racism is anything that involves a white person and a black person. any interaction and you have to have some sort of racism,, it is just the way white people are,,,
    come on !!! :)
  • ↓←↑♣→NVL←♣↑→↓ 2012/02/28 05:30:59
    Yes
    ↓←↑♣→NVL←♣↑→↓
    racist: no
    insensitive: yes
  • jas wats ↓←↑♣→NV... 2012/03/01 03:15:26
    jas wats
    Insensitive is just how people say, "well, it's not racist, but I have to bitch about something, so let's call it insensitive. Deal?"
  • ↓←↑♣→NV... jas wats 2012/03/01 03:20:33
    ↓←↑♣→NVL←♣↑→↓
    ? It is not racist, it is just insensitive. How is it racist?
  • Carson 2012/02/28 05:19:16
    No
    Carson
    +4
    Its funny as hell though.
  • Kerymi 2012/02/28 04:46:20
    Yes
    Kerymi
    I don't know. Maybe that wasn't the intended portrayal, but I can see why somebody would take it as racism.
    Let's just say that if I never read this post, and I saw this magazine out somewhere, I would do a double take, wonder, and probably be slightly offended.
  • Patric Kerymi 2012/02/28 14:10:45
    Patric
    +1
    you realize this is some sort of skin magazine ??

    and you would probably be slightly offended about a black woman on it ??

    do not see your priorities ..
  • Kerymi Patric 2012/02/29 04:36:05
    Kerymi
    I don't understand your comment, but I was just sharing MY opinion. It is what it is.
  • Patric Kerymi 2012/02/29 10:37:22
    Patric
    I agreee , it is what it is..

    and racism isn't what it is...

    and sad, so many jump to pull the card ,, and how some one would view it as racist ?

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/07/24 13:08:28

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals