Quantcast

Do nuns have a right to their own opinion?

Sister Jean 2012/07/04 23:33:02
Related Topics: Opinion
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Add a comment above

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Sister ... elijahin24 2012/07/05 15:47:55
    Sister Jean
    +2
    I took vows but never gave up free will God's greatest gift to us.
  • elijahin24 Sister ... 2012/07/05 16:04:05
    elijahin24
    +1
    No, Sister, you certainly did not. But hypathetically, if you were to support a womans right to have an abortion, openly; would you not face some consequences? Or if you were to say that the Pope is wrong about something important? That is to say, if a nun just whole-heartedly disagreed with a position that the church held strongly; would she have the freedom to voice that opposition, without repurcussion?
  • Sister ... elijahin24 2012/07/05 17:39:02
    Sister Jean
    +1
    God reads my heart and the hearts of those who have abortions..I imagine for most women it's the worst decision of their life.Since I never married I never had to think about.it.I leave people's hearts and souls to God.
  • elijahin24 Sister ... 2012/07/05 18:01:07
    elijahin24
    +1
    So I'll take that as a "yes, I can speak my mind, even when it goes against what the church believes".
  • Sister ... elijahin24 2012/07/05 19:08:30
    Sister Jean
    +1
    yes I didn't take a vow not to think
  • elijahin24 Sister ... 2012/07/05 19:19:04
    elijahin24
    +1
    I never suspected you of not thinking, sister. I just wasn't sure how much heat you would take for voicing that thought. I'm glad to hear that.
  • Hockey 40 Sister ... 2012/07/05 16:13:15
    Hockey 40
    God is great! sister
  • Smokey 2012/07/05 15:36:01
    yes
    Smokey
    +1
    I sure hope so, especially because many of them give very good sound advice!
  • Sister ... Smokey 2012/07/05 15:45:23
  • Mr.Steve 2012/07/05 15:34:26
  • HearnoEvil 2012/07/05 15:31:32
    yes
    HearnoEvil
    +1
    Everyone does.. Of course!
  • PAUL F 2012/07/05 15:09:18
    yes
    PAUL F
    +1
    Sister,

    I do think you have the right to have your own opinion? Who could stop you? And why would they?
  • Sister ... PAUL F 2012/07/05 15:14:55
    Sister Jean
    +1
    can't few here would love to
  • PAUL F Sister ... 2012/07/05 15:27:26
    PAUL F
    +1
    Sister,

    I understand you can not give details! If it is your job in the Church you know how to handle that remember there are not that many Nuns in the USA.That is good job security!

    If is any one else "who cares'!

    There is no way they can really stop you. Many times you can get your point across without saying a word!! If you need some ideas be happy to share them!
  • Sprout 2012/07/05 15:03:56
    yes
    Sprout
    +1
    sure why not????? Last time I checked they are people... pic of whoopie as a nun
  • Sister ... Sprout 2012/07/05 15:05:21
  • lyle 2012/07/05 14:27:01
    yes
    lyle
    +1
    you arn't given a light to hide under a basket........
  • Sister ... lyle 2012/07/05 15:05:44
  • Just MEH....Piwan 2012/07/05 14:25:43
    yes
    Just MEH....Piwan
    +1
    Of course they do!
  • Defcon 2012/07/05 14:10:49
    yes
    Defcon
    +1
    EVERYONE DOES
  • Cantus_bird 2012/07/05 13:45:20
    yes
    Cantus_bird
    +1
    Nuns do have a right to their own opinion as well as anyone else.
  • Ben 2012/07/05 13:26:24
    yes
    Ben
    +1
    Of course they do, they're human beings. Every human has the right to have their own opinions. Just because they're religious and all belong to the same organisation doesn't mean they'll all think exactly the same.
  • Sister ... Ben 2012/07/05 13:37:34
  • JanHopkins 2012/07/05 13:19:26
    None of the above
    JanHopkins
    I thought the pope told them what to think.
  • Linda Fawkes 2012/07/05 12:54:54
    yes
    Linda Fawkes
    Of course! Every one is valuable and every opinion counts! you matter
  • Sister ... Linda F... 2012/07/05 13:37:56
  • gmiing 2012/07/05 12:52:09
    yes
    gmiing
    +1
    Why not?
  • bluelady 2012/07/05 12:37:05
    yes
    bluelady
    +1
    I have a differing opinion from MY spouse frequently, but we are in pretty close accord on most things..and even when we differ on some...I try to do things he would approve
  • dandieselonian 2012/07/05 12:25:35
    yes
    dandieselonian
    +1
    I have seen nuns mistreated to some degree over gifts given to them by others , that always bothered me and I never understood that.
  • Esther 2012/07/05 10:50:23
    yes
    Esther
    +1
    yeah .
  • Missile 2012/07/05 10:41:42
    yes
    Missile
    +1
    Off course.
  • Robbb 2012/07/05 10:23:07
    None of the above
    Robbb
    So long as it does not differ or interfere with that of the Pope yes.
  • littlebuffalo55TBA 2012/07/05 08:47:10
    yes
    littlebuffalo55TBA
    +2
    Most assuredly! And even when it's is not the same as my opinion.
  • sglmom 2012/07/05 08:38:01
    yes
    sglmom
    +4
    Hmm ..
    have the 'spoilers' been out again?
  • Sister ... sglmom 2012/07/05 13:39:06
  • FencerCat 2012/07/05 05:13:18
    yes
    FencerCat
    +2
    Why would they not? They take vows of poverty, chastity and obedience, not denial of opinion.
  • Sister ... FencerCat 2012/07/05 13:39:29
  • Lucy 2012/07/05 04:59:22
    yes
    Lucy
    +2
    All people should have a right to their own opinion.
  • LunarRain 2012/07/05 04:39:34
    yes
    LunarRain
    +2
    Why wouldn't they be able to?
  • L1 2012/07/05 04:38:09
    yes
    L1
    +3
    Sure, you do. You are an individual like everyone else.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/11/20 21:10:09

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals