Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Lock Up Your Ice Cream

Fun 2012/05/23 18:00:00
Ben & Jerry's is almost perfect, but their delicious, variegated ice cream has one glaring flaw: It's too easy to steal. Well, that's what the Ben Jerry's Euphori-Lock is for. The Euphori-Lock is quite simply a three-digit code lock that fits onto the lid of a Ben & Jerry's pint. That's a one-time fee of $5.50 for a lifetime of secure Cherry Garcia. We asked the public if it was a good idea.



Once again, the dairy duo have come up with a brilliant product. Not only did the majority favor the Euphori-Lock, but many of the respondents who didn't were only opposed because they either wanted access to an alluring pint or because they could still get the thing open. The Top Opinion suggested a knife to get it open, and some tin foil to keep it fresh until the unsuspecting victim found their compromised container. But it would take a special kind of nasty to carry that out.

Women Want Their Ice Cream Secure

Everyone loves ice cream, but for some reason, many women seem to take it to a different level. It's a source of comfort and a not-so-guilty pleasure. So we weren't too surprised to find that women were 20% more likely to think the Euphori-Lock is a brilliant idea. If you take anything away from this recap, it's this: Don't get between a woman and her ice cream.

Not as Appealing When You're Older

For some strange reason, enthusiasm for the Euphori-Lock dropped consistently as voters got older, from 69% among teens to 40% with voters over 65. That could mean people are less likely to enjoy ice cream as they get older, or it could mean that older people are more willing to share their ice cream. Either way, we don't want to grow up.

Vital If You're in a Relationship

This could be related to age, but there was a large gap between respondents who were in a relationship and those who were married. Voters in a relationship were also more enthusiastic about the Euphori-Lock than singles, suggesting perhaps young couples are prone to stealing each other's ice cream.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about the Euphori-Lock. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • moe.anderson.7 2012/07/24 15:38:39
  • Jorge Enriquez 2012/06/22 22:32:43
    Jorge Enriquez
    mmm come on...waste ur money!!!! yea....
  • pops 2012/06/05 05:02:08
    pops
    What's next chastity belts?
  • Mellow 2012/06/01 01:20:17
    Mellow
    +1
    I need this!!!

    Haha, just kidding.
  • lalala :3 2012/05/28 23:31:22
    lalala :3
    +1
    the reason people are stealing it is because (last time i checked) it cost like 5 dollars for only a little bit i mean really ? thats way to overpriced
  • LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH 2012/05/28 18:48:39
    LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH
    YEAH! LOCK UP your ICE CREAM, FOLKS!
  • shywink 2012/05/24 17:09:57
    shywink
    +1
    Dumb idea. Whose not smart enough to just turn it over and cut open the bottom? It's just plain silly.
  • TasselLady 2012/05/24 16:42:26
    TasselLady
    Might not be an idea, especially when you have alot of food thieves out there!!! However, here's another good way to keep people from stealing your food again:
    food thief
  • lalala :3 TasselLady 2012/05/28 23:32:21
  • TasselLady lalala :3 2012/05/29 20:35:41
    TasselLady
    +1
    And just watch them run to the bathroom!
    cartoon running to the bathroom
  • BIG BAD JOHN R. 2012/05/24 16:28:46
    BIG BAD JOHN R.
    +2
    Good idea but a wast of time, just take a knife and cut into the bottom and their you go ice cream, and get your spoon full
  • A.Oscar 2012/05/24 16:20:20
    A.Oscar
    +1
    Ice cream is a fantastic dessert that pleases anybody; I always did love ice-cream, strawberries are my favor, but many others flavors to. A bigger problem; ice-cream are made of milk and sugar, the two ingredients real bad to you, special when you sick of any danger’s disease, that feed’s the bacteria, to create more problems, even a cold could accelerated the disease, or make it into longer in you. Older people should avoid as much could be possible. The homogeny Milk in the boxes are the worse, because the chemicals or preventives to get bad, even worse. A.Oscar
  • harasnicole 2012/05/24 16:15:48
  • Maria 2012/05/24 15:48:22
    Maria
    Dang..like it..great idea..need one of those...lol
  • Soms Cougli 2012/05/24 15:20:59
    Soms Cougli
    My poor brothers, they'll be ice-cream-less. My parents won't buy it, I'm locking mine up, they're ruined!
  • Defcon Soms Co... 2012/05/24 15:23:03
    Defcon
    Just cut through the bottom of the ice cream bin
  • Soms Co... Defcon 2012/05/24 15:39:49
    Soms Cougli
    They aren't smart enough for that >:) And that way they can't be sneaky, anyway!
  • RoseyRhod 2012/05/24 14:53:38
    RoseyRhod
    Nah. I'll just buy more ice cream!
  • Sterling 2012/05/24 14:33:38
    Sterling
    +2
    I'd just turn it upside down and cut out the bottom.
  • SoD Sterling 2012/05/24 14:42:28
    SoD
    +2
    Indeed. Locking cardboard containers is only effective in securing your pint against honest thieves.
  • C. C. Rider 2012/05/24 13:26:00
    C. C. Rider
    +2
    I'm sorry, it would never work in my house. They would dig from underneath. I have pirates for friends lol.
  • Valerie 2012/05/24 12:57:47
  • RoseyRhod Valerie 2012/05/24 14:55:38
    RoseyRhod
    +1
    I say we should request a special flavor for our Spammy friend Valerie here: Arsenic Spam!
  • Wolverineland 2012/05/24 11:05:02
    Wolverineland
    +2
    Not a bad idea actually because my daughter's friend double dips in our ice cream & peanut butter when she comes over for visits and sleepovers. ice cream lock
  • Visipun... Wolveri... 2012/05/24 13:47:37
    Visipunkbot sXe
    +1
    And you knew about this? I would have taken her out back and used the switch against her bare hide.
  • Wolveri... Visipun... 2012/05/25 00:54:37
    Wolverineland
    I actually found out about it years after it was happening which made it even more gross. My daughter and her friend are almost 17 so they're a little old to take a switch to and besides that, I never believed in spanking.
  • Defcon Wolveri... 2012/05/24 15:23:46
    Defcon
    +1
    Just cut thought the bottom of the bin
  • Wolveri... Defcon 2012/05/25 00:48:51
    Wolverineland
    I said it was a neat idea, but didn't say it was practical. At almost $4. a pint, we don't buy alot of Ben & Jerrys.
  • mewycg 2012/05/24 09:57:17
    mewycg
    +1
    What stops the ice cream thief from cutting the bottom out of the carton to get the goods? They need to make a B&J; pint shaped lock box.
  • acid 2012/05/24 07:54:50
    acid
    dear god thats so awesome but i think my brother would still be able to get into it
  • SoD acid 2012/05/24 18:34:59
    SoD
    Unless he has the intellectual capacity of a jellyfish, yes he would be able to get into it.
  • acid SoD 2012/05/24 23:31:58
    acid
    yeah i never get to eat any ice cream with my family around i should get my own lil fridge :)
  • SoD acid 2012/05/24 23:45:49
  • acid SoD 2012/05/25 02:51:56
    acid
    this one be more in mah budget :) http://www.target.com/p/Emers...
  • SoD acid 2012/05/25 16:52:22
    SoD
    It doesn't include a freezer, and thus would be of no use in protecting your B & J pints.
  • acid SoD 2012/05/26 03:46:30
    acid
    i thought that was what the "chiller compartment" was?
  • SoD acid 2012/05/26 07:47:52
    SoD
    I'm honestly not sure. See if you can find one in store and have a look at the manual ;)
  • acid SoD 2012/05/26 08:34:20
    acid
    yeah i have to go and see for my self :(
  • Cal 2012/05/24 04:28:19 (edited)
    Cal
    YAY. It's about time I got the top comment in these things and got mentioned. Dammit only been trying for about 6 months....

    http://www.sodahead.com/fun/y...
  • acid Cal 2012/05/25 02:52:11

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Fun

2014/10/22 00:02:37

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals