Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Bacon Is Better Than Nutella

Fun 2012/09/18 21:00:00
Ever since Italian confectionery manufacturer Ferrero introduced Nutella, a hazelnut-based chocolatey spread, in the 1960s, one question has burned in the minds of all who tried it: "This is great... but is it better than bacon?" Today, we have the answer. We asked the public, once and for all, which delicious treat reigns supreme.



Is it any surprise that bacon took the cake? Not really. Bacon is timeless, like water slides and sensual massages. It's been around forever, and will continue to permeate society until the last pig has been fried to thin, crispy perfection. (Or thick and juicy, if you're into that.) "Nutella is great. Bacon is greater." Pretty sure that was Isaac Newton, but don't quote us on it.

Men Love Their Bacon

You'll be hard pressed to find someone of either gender who can look at a thin, crispy slice of pig fat without salivating uncontrollably. We suspect even some vegetarians lament the loss of such a treat. But when given an option between bacon and Nutella (i.e. chocolate), men are much more likely to pick bacon. Only 55% of female voters picked it.

Teens Take to Nutella

Teen voters actually preferred Nutella to bacon. In fact, they were one of the only demographics to do so. Only 46% of teens would pick bacon over Nutella, compared to nearly 80% of people over the age of 35. Could it be that Nutella will someday replace bacon? Will our novelty shops sell Nutella-scented soap? Will we add Nutella bits to our salads? Only time will tell.

Healthy, Shmealthy

Smokers and drinkers were both more likely to pick bacon over Nutella, suggesting that perhaps bacon is not as popular among health nuts (pun not intended). Smokers were 10% more likely to prefer bacon, while drinkers were 7% more likely. That's not to say Nutella is incredibly healthy. Ferrero was actually sued by California for suggesting Nutella is nutritious.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about the immensely important rivalry between bacon and Nutella. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Fashionable60s 2012/09/18 23:50:48
    Fashionable60s
    I like both but SEPARATELY.
  • Tabitha 2012/09/18 23:39:39
    Tabitha
    I like both just fine and dandy.
  • CrazyJason 2012/09/18 23:32:17
    CrazyJason
    Enough with the Bacon obsession. It's not funny anymore.. It never really was.

    Bacon is good.. So is pizza. How come we don't have some idiot on TV saying "PIZZA PIZZA PIZZA!" ?
  • Dana CrazyJason 2012/09/19 01:20:26 (edited)
    Dana
    We did at one time. Little Ceasears pizza done that!
  • CrazyJason Dana 2012/09/19 01:23:08
    CrazyJason
    I love the $5 pizzas, something I can afford!
  • Dana CrazyJason 2012/09/19 01:35:01 (edited)
    Dana
    +1
    Their good too! But I make my own sometimes, with my own toppings!
  • Ericka CrazyJason 2013/01/13 06:35:08
    Ericka
    We do - the little ceasar's pizza guy:


  • shadow4556 2012/09/18 23:32:08
    shadow4556
    I like Nutella but I love bacon.
  • Diana Rice 2012/09/18 23:31:56
  • les_gvt 2012/09/18 23:22:49
    les_gvt
    never heard of Nutella, and not a big chocolate fan, so would have to go with bacon
  • Pacomutts 2012/09/18 23:18:16
    Pacomutts
    +1
    By all means, bacon beats Nutella by a long shot, and, as it was said in the movie Dutch, "nothing burps better than bacon!!!"
  • The River Rat 2012/09/18 23:17:57
    The River Rat
    My kids and I tried nutella for the first time on vacation this year. I hated it. I thought it would taste like hazel nuts but it just taste like chocolate - bad chocolate.
  • Mic-E 2012/09/18 23:12:39
    Mic-E
    Bacon, for sure.
  • Solomonster 2012/09/18 22:58:52
    Solomonster
    +1
    Well yeah! I love Nutella. I really do... but dude, its bacon!
  • Rhi-ot. 2012/09/18 22:56:55
  • dani 2012/09/18 22:54:54
    dani
    Yum bacon
  • gothickittie 2012/09/18 22:40:24
    gothickittie
    +1
    I think that they are both great!! Neither is better!!
  • Huki68 2012/09/18 22:34:15
    Huki68
    hell no
  • Pele Emerging 2012/09/18 22:27:28
    Pele Emerging
    Was there ever any doubt? Nutella is fine and dandy, but it's not bacon (grin).
  • stardust 2012/09/18 22:23:39
    stardust
    +5
    bacon with nutella

    why not both?
  • stardust stardust 2012/09/18 22:25:19
    stardust
    +1
    that awkward moment when you just realized that you posted the same picture as someone else :/
  • Nekosar... stardust 2012/09/19 01:08:34
    Nekosarethebest
    And you somehow got top opinion. :D Yay!
  • hermit57 stardust 2012/09/19 06:19:13
    hermit57
    Hey! It's OK. It was a good picture that suite the point! Great minds think alike! :D
  • Alexander T Steward 2012/09/18 22:22:41
  • Chris Dobrowolski 2012/09/18 22:15:06
    Chris Dobrowolski
    Bacon does sound better also than Nutella
  • Artisan Rose ☽✪☾☥ 2012/09/18 22:11:55
    Artisan Rose ☽✪☾☥
    +1
    I don't care what anyone else says, Nutella is amazing!
  • Adam 2012/09/18 22:11:50
  • zyggie 2012/09/18 22:11:21
    zyggie
    +1
    No
    But both are heavenly!
  • ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home ♥ 2012/09/18 22:11:14
    ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home ♥
    +1
    have u ever dipped bacon in nutella? i may have to try that, i love salty sweet and chocolate dipped bacon is yummy, so why not have the best of both =) and if it s not so great then, ill go with bacon any day!!
  • Nick ♥ Amy ♥... 2012/09/19 11:08:55
    Nick
    +1
    You may want to visit a cardiologist. Just saying.
  • ♥ Amy ♥... Nick 2012/09/19 11:41:58
    ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home ♥
    +1
    thanks for your concern, my yearly check up showed my heart is in good hands and doing well ;)
  • Nick ♥ Amy ♥... 2012/09/19 13:25:45
    Nick
    +1
    You may want a second opinion, just in case the first guy wasn't really a doctor
  • ♥ Amy ♥... Nick 2012/09/19 13:39:45
    ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home ♥
    +1
    you're probably right...
  • hermit57 2012/09/18 22:11:08
    hermit57
    +9
    nutella  bacon  argument

    bun  nutella  bacon

    I think this calls for a new study! 8p LOL :D
  • ♥ Amy ♥... hermit57 2012/09/18 22:12:24
    ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home ♥
    +4
    omgoodness!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!... double bonus rave!!! who knew .... now i soooo have to try it!!!
  • Bulanov... hermit57 2012/09/20 06:44:53
    Bulanova (Team Hargitay)
    +1
    Oh my God, when I saw that poll question, I answered that I wanted to try the two mixed together! I have never even thought about bacon and nutella before that poll and now you're telling me THEY ALREADY HAVE IT?!

    D: I'm so on this.
  • Willy 2012/09/18 22:11:03
    Willy
    +4
    A Nutella sandwich with a couple slices of bacon in it would probably be tasty.
  • RezcrashGB 2012/09/18 22:11:02
    RezcrashGB
    +1
    What ... nut ? ... Sorry , but only BACON for me .. 8¬ P
  • BReeZY!!!:D 2012/09/18 22:04:03
    BReeZY!!!:D
    +2
    depends on how its cooked
  • intolerantrwj 2012/09/18 21:59:47
    intolerantrwj
    +2
    ..... Bacon, thank you.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Fun

2014/07/23 15:35:32

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals