Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Bacon Is Better Than Nutella

Fun 2012/09/18 21:00:00
Ever since Italian confectionery manufacturer Ferrero introduced Nutella, a hazelnut-based chocolatey spread, in the 1960s, one question has burned in the minds of all who tried it: "This is great... but is it better than bacon?" Today, we have the answer. We asked the public, once and for all, which delicious treat reigns supreme.



Is it any surprise that bacon took the cake? Not really. Bacon is timeless, like water slides and sensual massages. It's been around forever, and will continue to permeate society until the last pig has been fried to thin, crispy perfection. (Or thick and juicy, if you're into that.) "Nutella is great. Bacon is greater." Pretty sure that was Isaac Newton, but don't quote us on it.

Men Love Their Bacon

You'll be hard pressed to find someone of either gender who can look at a thin, crispy slice of pig fat without salivating uncontrollably. We suspect even some vegetarians lament the loss of such a treat. But when given an option between bacon and Nutella (i.e. chocolate), men are much more likely to pick bacon. Only 55% of female voters picked it.

Teens Take to Nutella

Teen voters actually preferred Nutella to bacon. In fact, they were one of the only demographics to do so. Only 46% of teens would pick bacon over Nutella, compared to nearly 80% of people over the age of 35. Could it be that Nutella will someday replace bacon? Will our novelty shops sell Nutella-scented soap? Will we add Nutella bits to our salads? Only time will tell.

Healthy, Shmealthy

Smokers and drinkers were both more likely to pick bacon over Nutella, suggesting that perhaps bacon is not as popular among health nuts (pun not intended). Smokers were 10% more likely to prefer bacon, while drinkers were 7% more likely. That's not to say Nutella is incredibly healthy. Ferrero was actually sued by California for suggesting Nutella is nutritious.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about the immensely important rivalry between bacon and Nutella. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Kara Blader 2014/08/05 19:36:09
  • Rob Clary 2012/12/12 14:38:37
    Rob Clary
    And bacon is offensive to Islam which just makes it taste even better....
  • Avi Rosen 2012/12/10 14:58:33
    Avi Rosen
    Basically I prefer savory rather than sweet but in this case I'll take the sweet.
    Being Jewish I don't touch Pork.
  • Avi Rosen 2012/12/10 14:57:03
    Avi Rosen
    Being Jewish;
    Nutella, I can eat, there is no sin in becoming fat.
    Bacon not...! (Big Sin)
    So the answer is quite clear for me.
  • Rhi-ot. 2012/12/09 22:13:22
    Rhi-ot.
    If I could live the rest of my life eating one thing it'd be nutella. Always.
  • pabzui 2012/11/13 05:59:53
    pabzui
    its because bacon is awesome
  • Mindy 2012/11/12 17:29:55
    Mindy
    I have loved crispy bacon forever until I realized how fatty it is. But, I do not like Nutella at all. So I'd rather go w/o either, except bacon wan egg and hash browns once or twice a year.
  • estrella 2012/10/13 01:31:20
    estrella
    bacon
  • Marina 2012/10/11 17:58:20
    Marina
    Nutella = too sweet; me no like.
  • the spoiler 2012/10/11 16:48:58
    the spoiler
    When I eat bacon, I have to just stop eating it, cause I never get enought.
  • BigD_U.S.M."HD"Vet. 2012/09/27 20:11:55
    BigD_U.S.M."HD"Vet.
    +1
    Crisp, Hot Bacon works for me..
  • Dark Dragon Goddess 2012/09/24 18:02:16
    Dark Dragon Goddess
    never had nutella. But you can't beat a baconator!!! oh gad mmm, drooling now
  • whowasphone 2012/09/24 17:32:23
    whowasphone
    damnit! top comment beat me to it!
  • shadow76 2012/09/24 16:13:28
    shadow76
    Nothing could have been further from my mind! They do not compare!
  • Malia 2012/09/23 18:37:17
    Malia
    +1
    Nutella, hands down
  • cyndy.hamilton1 2012/09/23 17:09:02
  • Chris cyndy.h... 2012/10/04 21:35:40
    Chris
    Turkey bacon I think tastes better than pork bacon.
  • Mindy Chris 2012/11/12 17:34:47
    Mindy
    My brother is responsible for the demise of many turkeys. He eats turkey ham, turkey bacon, etc. Some of it's not bad, but As Marvin Gaye and Tammy Terrell say, "Ain't nothing like the real thing, baby."
  • Chris Mindy 2012/11/13 01:54:06
    Chris
    Beef bacon is really good to, you should try it if you haven't.
  • Ramón 2012/09/22 19:13:25
    Ramón
    Bacon isn't food. Pigs are part of the environment designed to remove toxins from out lands. . It is kosher, wheat free and smooth and yummy. So I go with the Gnutella.
  • gidianedwards97 2012/09/22 06:22:56
    gidianedwards97
    nutella hands down
  • Ticka 2012/09/21 06:50:14
    Ticka
    NO WAY.
  • Bethany Ashcroft 2012/09/20 23:37:56 (edited)
    Bethany Ashcroft
    +2
    You get bread, spread nutella on it, add some bacon, more nutella, more bacon, then another piece of bread and WALA heart disease :D
  • CaliforniaBlonde 2012/09/20 23:06:48
  • Grammar Freak 2012/09/20 12:06:11
    Grammar Freak
    Bacon is one of the most important staples in the American diet.
    It's beautiful.
    It goes with absolutely everything (that isn't sweet).

    Nutella, on the other hand, is absolutely disgusting.
    blech.
    gak.
  • Tella6 2012/09/20 11:48:34
    Tella6
    I don't know, I used to love bacon. I can't eat it anymore because little piglets are so cute to me. (I don't mind if other people eat it though). If I still ate bacon, I'd pick it over nutella too.
  • Mindy Tella6 2012/11/12 17:42:58
    Mindy
    +1
    I can't/won't eat lamb because as a kid I fed the baby lambies and was attached to them. Also, won't eat veal because of the inhumane way they are raised. Argh. there are humane and inhumane ways to kill critters for consumption. i do sometimes get hung up on the question of what makes us think we are so much better than things we eat. I probably should be a vegetarian, but I love a Porterhouse now and then, etc.

    Anyway, it seems like a spurious comparison. Nutella should be compared to Jiff. I don't know anyone that puts bacon on their bred in lieu of a spread of some sort. Bacon goes on a BLT or in a fry up.
  • miserykills 2012/09/20 08:45:48
    miserykills
    Nutella is better. I don't eat meat though so I guess I'm not a fair judge. I haven't had bacon in 4 years.
  • revbh 2012/09/20 05:29:42
  • Sophie 2012/09/20 05:15:51
    Sophie
    +1
    Neither. I would rather fast.
  • carlton999 2012/09/20 04:58:54
    carlton999
    You know that dog on that commercial...........ITS Bacon!
  • raelene 2012/09/20 01:05:04
    raelene
    +1
    Heck yea bacon! Female 13-17 even though I've never had nutella haha I will always love bacon!
  • Jim 2012/09/19 23:35:34
    Jim
    +3
    Not a good or fair comparison. It should be bacon vs. roast beef OR Nutella vs. Jif peanut butter.
  • Marina Jim 2012/10/11 18:03:37
    Marina
    then I would vote roast beef OR peanut butter (but not Jiffy, too sweet).
  • jujunme 2012/09/19 23:22:14
    jujunme
    Can't see the comparison between the two but, bacon wins hands down, love it!
  • jc 2012/09/19 23:07:14
    jc
    Don't like either!
  • sam.whiting.7543 2012/09/19 21:38:00
    sam.whiting.7543
    +2
    WHAT IS REALLY GOOD, IS DIPPING BACON IN THE NUTELLA!! YUMMY!!!!
  • Elizabeth 2012/09/19 21:08:22
    Elizabeth
    bacon will always be better than nutella.
  • Gangstersteve1993 2012/09/19 19:36:35
    Gangstersteve1993
    I like both of then but i'm sticking with bacon. National favorite food item, tasty ( unless i you don't like it for certain reason) irresistible and i'm not to sure if it's cheaper or not.
  • zeldamaster17~平和 2012/09/19 18:31:22
    zeldamaster17~平和
    Comparing grapes and steak, but meh. Bacon of course.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Fun

2014/09/23 16:32:20

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals