Quantcast

Can you tell me why people insult and name call over differing opinions on these polls?

Jerry (Iron Priest)☮ R ☮ P ☮ 201 2008/02/19 20:34:44
You!
Add Photos & Videos
I just want to reach out and slap them.
Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • Fef 2008/02/19 20:48:23
    Yes
    Fef
    +14
    People resort to name-calling for various reasons -- none of which we should tolerate.

    If someone provokes you with name-calling, please try the following:
    - downrave the specific comment (not all comments by the offender)
    - ignore the comment (your response satisfies the offender)
    - remain focused on the topic, not the name-calling

    SodaHeads have a lot of pride and want to defend themselves and their fellow friends. This only leads to an exchange to abuse, which wastes the time of both other readers and SodaHead Staff (who go in and delete/modify the comments).

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • NUCKLEDRAGGER 2013/06/07 16:24:16 (edited)
    Yes
    NUCKLEDRAGGER
    People resort to name calling when their side of the discussion has no weight.
  • Bikermike 2011/09/19 06:38:00 (edited)
    Yes
    Bikermike
    +1
    It is an 'intellectually dishonest' effort to distract from the debate by changing the subject because the name caller is incapable of refuting the facts or logic of their opponent.



    If you disagree, you are a numbskull :)
  • NUCKLED... Bikermike 2013/06/07 16:27:24
    NUCKLEDRAGGER
    Funny, and so true :(}
  • Kai-Neko 2008/05/28 01:31:20
    No
    Kai-Neko
    +1
    I don't know its rude and annoying........
  • Gun665 2008/05/16 01:44:40
  • Amanda †In God We Trust† 2008/02/23 19:28:00
    Yes
    Amanda †In God We Trust†
    +1
    They can't think of something smart to say.
  • lou lou 2008/02/21 06:15:25
    Yes
    lou lou
    +1
    I think that it is for different reasons. people just want people to see things their way. There is no one way to things. When they resort to name calling their buttons just got pushed.
  • NUCKLED... lou lou 2013/06/07 16:30:13
    NUCKLEDRAGGER
    +1
    Just because your button has been pushed you do not have to act like a robot and call people names. You can use you brain and use facts to get them back. Winning a debate is the best revenge.
  • Conklin21 2008/02/20 20:24:28 (edited)
    Yes
    Conklin21
    +1
    "People fear what they dont understand and hate what they cant conquer."
  • Sister Jean 2008/02/20 15:05:01
    Undecided
    Sister Jean
    +2
    they even correct my English grammar
  • lou lou Sister ... 2008/02/21 06:13:18
    lou lou
    Why the DR Geeesh, sorry sister.
  • Sister ... lou lou 2008/02/21 14:17:47
    Sister Jean
    +1
    just someone who loves me ....I laugh at DR except the ine they did on pic of
  • Jerry (... Sister ... 2008/02/21 15:22:40
    Jerry (Iron Priest)☮ R ☮ P ☮ 201
    I had to rave you so you didn't think I DR ed you.
  • Min Carter 2008/02/20 15:00:12
    Yes
    Min Carter
    +1
    I think it's because we deal with such a diverse group of people - the good, the bad, and the ugly. I understand when people are passionate about their beliefs, but state your views and move on to broader pastures! I've noticed that some like to belabor a point 'for days' and aren't respectful of others. Bottom line: I don't agree with what you say, but I respect your right to say it!
  • NUCKLED... Min Carter 2013/06/07 16:36:59
    NUCKLEDRAGGER
    +1
    I wish everybody thought like you do. To many members of the Left seems to believe if you disagree with them, it is a form of hate speech.
  • Min Carter NUCKLED... 2013/08/15 18:11:07
    Min Carter
    Thank you! I had to take a hiatus from SH because of the stupidity and lack of 'free speech'! :)
  • loky 2008/02/20 04:45:51
    Yes
    loky
    +4
    because they can do it without getting their teeth knocked out.
  • Al3xander 2008/02/20 03:16:36
    Yes
    Al3xander
    +1
    Mostly its frustrating bcuz of the way we come to decsions are diffrent and they way people get their opinions is so ignerent sounding to us but in reality its the best choice in their eyes and it get frustrating trying to relate to these "idiots" but they just think a lil difrently
  • jeff 2008/02/20 02:42:12
  • Vyper 2008/02/20 02:05:44
    Yes
    Vyper
    Because that's what people do.
  • doc 2008/02/20 01:31:23
    Yes
    doc
    +4
    Cause they can hide behind the mouse and stir the pot (so to speak). Face to face though, not many would repeat their statements. We got em on the CB radio too (I drive a semi) and call em "radio rambo's).
  • Sister ... doc 2008/02/20 15:05:39
    Sister Jean
    +1
    so agree
  • Conklin21 doc 2008/02/20 20:28:38 (edited)
    Conklin21
    +1
    "radio rambo's" haha, very funny! I agree with you too.
  • NUCKLED... doc 2013/06/07 16:40:44
    NUCKLEDRAGGER
    Good words buddy, This here is bonedigger wishing you a good trip and safe miles.
  • Gramma Lil 2008/02/20 00:41:30
    Undecided
    Gramma Lil
    +3
    That's why the block feature comes in so handy.....when two people do not like each other the best way to avoid problems is to use the block feature. Not all of us are going to like each other. That's just a part of life...but I agree with everything Fef had to say.
  • Jerry (... Gramma Lil 2008/02/20 00:43:05
    Jerry (Iron Priest)☮ R ☮ P ☮ 201
    +2
    Yea, I blocked the sodahead who motivated me to do this poll today.
  • Gramma Lil Jerry (... 2008/02/20 00:45:43
    Gramma Lil
    +1
    Well I have less than a dozen on my list too and it makes things a hell of alot easier for me I can tell you that much...thanks Jerry for everything...especially for being there for me today! I'm so greatful for our group...I really am!
  • Sister ... Jerry (... 2008/02/21 15:25:39
  • Cher 2008/02/20 00:41:01
    Yes
    Cher
    +1
    Because they are ignorant and believe their opinion is the only one that matters and is the right opinion. ;)
  • daboyzrback 2008/02/19 22:57:35
    Yes
    daboyzrback
    +2
    they just over react because the care about the subject so much. But really sport questions have the most name calling but its just for fun because we like a personal team or player and just want to see what ppl say.
  • NUCKLED... daboyzr... 2013/06/07 16:44:12 (edited)
    NUCKLEDRAGGER
    Please don't justify bad manners, people who can't control their words should not type them to begin with.
  • Bobbye Leigh :) 2008/02/19 22:46:31
    Yes
    Bobbye Leigh :)
    +1
    cause the ppl are immature ppl. i know i just called some ppl a name, but if they don't act immature, then words that i say should not bother them. its my decision.
  • Cassie 2008/02/19 22:34:19 (edited)
    Yes
    Cassie
    +2
    They are Immature.
  • Rileymo 2008/02/19 22:15:32
    Yes
    Rileymo
    +4
    Because people only hear what they want, and they will try to shut you out or down if you disagree because they are insecure and weak. They are spouting what they have been told and have no premise to fall back on, so instead of an articulate, logical argument they will resolve to child like name calling and derogatory statements. Feel sorry for them, for they live in a self inflicted prison that they may never escape from :-(
  • NUCKLED... Rileymo 2013/06/07 16:48:59 (edited)
    NUCKLEDRAGGER
    +1
    Amen! People who think and have researched the issues are the ones who do not call names.
  • GDG*SEX CAKE* 2008/02/19 22:15:06
    Undecided
    GDG*SEX CAKE*
    +3
    I dont know ..
  • MT Chris 2008/02/19 22:08:04
    Undecided
    MT Chris
    +3
    I probably can't add anything more than what has been said below. I think we can all get passionate and reactionary rather than putting ourselves into someone else's shoes, especially on issues that are more belief-oriented (politics/religion). I know I've been guilty of this in my life, although I've specifically tried to avoid such behavior on SH and as I grow older. I love disagreements, arguments, and debates that can be undertaken in a civil way. I often learn more about issues by forcing myself to see the other sides of issues and I hope people can see my side of the argument if I take the time to write out my thoughts clearly. I hope the down-ravers and name-callers can largely find the great edification in engaging in critical thought and discussions rather than lashing out.
  • Lou 2008/02/19 22:05:01
    Undecided
    Lou
    +5
    Guess there are those who like to stir up controversy and keep the pot boiling. I don't enjoy getting called names, especially by people that are 30 years younger than I am. This type of activity is a bad reflection on our community and most of us like each other and can agree to disagree about things. But to be calling people names that you do not even know personally, is just rediculous behavior and should be reprimanded in some way.
  • magmeister10 2008/02/19 21:50:53 (edited)
    Yes
    magmeister10
    +5
    Some people have a real problem admitting that they are wrong or even appearing momentarily less than perfect. Their only weapon is to make the other person appear dumber, less perceptive, so therefore the opposing opinion has no weight. It's a key tactic of the abuser, and someone who has low self-esteem.
  • Ali ~ In My Heart I Trust ~ 2008/02/19 21:43:12
    Yes
    Ali ~ In My Heart I Trust ~
    +6
    Perhaps someone with another view on a subject is perceived as a threat. So fear, anger and unwillingness to see multiple sides of a question. Might have a change of view. Very dangerous stuff, changing views.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Fun

2014/10/21 18:42:58

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals