Quantcast

What's your opinion on rap?

JosephTruth 2012/07/18 16:56:46
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Whats your opinion on rap? Do you like, love, dislike, or hate it?
Personally, the whole girls, drugs, money stuff sucks but when you find real artists, you see the greatest, most meaningful lyrics. I love rap. I'll always think it's the best genre.
Ex: Same Love by Macklemore
http://soundcloud.com/macklemore/macklemore-x-ryan-lewis-same
Add a comment above

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • gabrielle 2013/05/25 15:09:13
    Like
    gabrielle
    Like but I only like Eminem And Macklemore the rest is bullsh*t
  • Ari Ames 2012/11/29 05:38:00
    Like
    Ari Ames
    Rap isn't necessarily bad, it just depends on what context a person raps from. I personally like old school rap: Dr. Dre, N.W.A, Grandmaster Flash and others from the 80s and 90s. Although I like some of the new rappers that are out there, especially Eminem and Macklemore.
  • Jack 2012/07/21 22:59:46
    Hate
    Jack
    Awful. It promotes racism. When the most prominent thing in black culture is black people acting like arrogant aggressive wankers, talking about how they treat women like crap and commit loads of crimes, how are white people supposed to like them?
  • Darkitec 2012/07/21 05:23:44
    Dislike
    Darkitec
    When I hear it on the radio or television, I can't change the channel quick enough.
  • petean05 2012/07/21 04:31:15
    Like
    petean05
    Check out Rhymesayers Entertainment. Doomtree, P.O.S., Atmosphere, Eyedea & Abilities, and many others. Unique sounds, meaningful lyrics, and good people.
  • Marissa Garreffa 2012/07/21 02:12:02
    Like
    Marissa Garreffa
    It really depends on the song. Some rap is crap, but some songs are really good too. A good song, rap or any genre, is a work of art.
  • Relay 2012/07/20 23:54:58
    Love
    Relay
    i have a certain respect for rappers


  • rr lyrae 2012/07/20 23:17:49
    Hate
    rr lyrae
    loathe, disdain and treat like a petty con.
  • Gasbagmike 2012/07/20 13:07:36
    Hate
    Gasbagmike
    First, it isnt even music. second it is very harmful to our society. we did a poll in our school, 32% of the students listened to rap. over 75% thought that drugs are ok and they dont need college or to do good in school. Where as the 77% who didnt listen to rap only about 25% thought that they dont need college. See the difference???
    75 drugs college school 77 listen rap 25 college difference
    75 drugs college school 77 listen rap 25 college difference
    75 drugs college school 77 listen rap 25 college difference
    75 drugs college school 77 listen rap 25 college difference
  • PandahSixx 2012/07/20 09:43:57
  • PandahSixx PandahSixx 2012/07/20 09:44:20
  • just some random guy 2012/07/20 09:33:50
  • Raphy 2012/07/20 04:12:50
    Like
    Raphy
    Just don't care for gangsta rap.
  • Altering_Minds. 2012/07/20 03:14:39
    Hate
    Altering_Minds.
    +1
    I hope they don't expect us to like something that hates us....Discrace our wemon and make cowards out of our men...it's just pittiful....
  • Nam Era Vet #1 DNA TLC 2012/07/20 02:30:53
    Dislike
    Nam Era Vet #1 DNA TLC
    I kinda like the cleaner rap. But the foul language kind. And the kind that degrades women, I don't care for.
  • Adam W 2012/07/20 00:52:35
    Dislike
    Adam W
    I don't like it. If other people do, that's fine. I don't think there's any point in making fun of a whole genre, just because I don't enjoy it, like some people do.
  • AJ Toasts Struddles 2012/07/20 00:14:09
    Like
    AJ Toasts Struddles
    I'll have to say that I like rap. I mean it has a good beat and all.
  • ronbo51 2012/07/19 23:51:40
    Dislike
    ronbo51
  • bman~AVA~BTTB 2012/07/19 20:49:34
    Hate
    bman~AVA~BTTB
    Me, I can't stand it myself. For those of you that do like it then that's fine enough but I just can't hang with it. To me it's just a bunch of talking and beat. I don't like it.
  • AM 2012/07/19 20:31:46
  • AS 2012/07/19 16:23:08
    Dislike
    AS
    I listen to rock, metal, punk, jazz and alt rock. And honestly, I don't mean to offend - just stating my opinion, I don't count it as music. I mean it's great when it's like an addition to a song of a different genre, like in Walk This Way by Aerosmith and Run-Dmc. And stuff like rap-rock and rap-metal are great, but when a whole song is made of effects, a beat and someone rapping, it's just lame. And kind of sad in my opinion. :/
  • Latti Ice Ganga Gangsta of ... 2012/07/19 14:31:37 (edited)
    Love
    Latti Ice Ganga Gangsta of PHAET
    +2
    Love it; seems like no one has been paying attention to all of the amazing current rappers out there, which are a lot.



  • Latti I... Latti I... 2012/07/19 14:36:20
  • ģhøṡτ øώl 2012/07/19 14:04:53 (edited)
    Dislike
    ģhøṡτ øώl
    +1
    Rap is for egotistical, immature minds. HIP-HOP is the grown up version. Give me The Roots, Sean Price, Talib Kweli or the like anyday over jerkoffs like Eminem and Rick Ross. I wanna hear an M.C., not a "rapper". Rappers talk about themselves, money and other ego-driven superficialities. M.C.'s tell stories and talk about REAL life and inspirational subjects.



    WATCH THIS, IT IS GREAT:



    http://youtu.be/32Qr5oKKP-M
  • Latti I... ģhøṡτ øώl 2012/07/19 14:37:05
  • ģhøṡτ øώl Latti I... 2012/07/20 12:07:14
    ģhøṡτ øώl
    +1
    RIGHT ON!
  • imantrek ģhøṡτ øώl 2012/07/19 16:54:33
    imantrek
    im glad somebody knows the difference between Hip Hop and Rap. However Eminem been paid his dues as a respected lyricist and flowmaster. I don't where you summation on him came from????(Mockingbird alone is a masterpiece)
  • ģhøṡτ øώl imantrek 2012/07/20 12:06:25 (edited)
  • imantrek ģhøṡτ øώl 2012/07/21 03:24:53
    imantrek
    +1
    cant even argue with that Ghost. great points. I just think his flow is out of this world, but your argument holds weight.
  • ģhøṡτ øώl imantrek 2012/07/21 12:17:43
    ģhøṡτ øώl
    Thanks, man. It sucks because wouldn't it be awesome if he used his talents for really awesome, positive points instead of being a jerk?
  • ivegotloveinmypants 2012/07/19 12:56:54
    Like
    ivegotloveinmypants
    +1
    Ahh, I had thought dislike would be big here. Depends on the demographic of voters here.
    I like rap because I make sure that I listen to the good stuff, and that was when rap was in its infant stages, in the early 80's.
    Then, people used rap to protest against racism, and other problems in society. This was good, because the young could relate to the language used. However, rap has turned foul.
    1- Objectification of women, especially black women. We are being demeaned as hoes. The real hoe are the ones rapping about screwing so many women a night.
    2-Violence. Thanks to the thug attitude, all black men are being racially profiled by the police. A great deal of them are NOT thugs.
    3-Degradation: the music has gotten worse over the years.Thanks to Lil Wayne, I will not be buying anything from Cash Money records. Stupid name for a label, anyway.
  • Latti I... ivegotl... 2012/07/19 14:44:02
    Latti Ice Ganga Gangsta of PHAET
    They still do protest all of those things in large numbers; people are just overlooking them.

  • ivegotl... Latti I... 2012/07/26 10:12:55
    ivegotloveinmypants
    +1
    Thanks for the names!
  • cire13 2012/07/19 10:13:49 (edited)
    Hate
    cire13
    It stupid yo!
  • cthulhu'ssorrow 2012/07/19 09:55:45
    Dislike
    cthulhu'ssorrow
    it is the only genre of music that i do not listen too at all
  • luigi1- in god we trust 2012/07/19 09:46:14
    Dislike
    luigi1- in god we trust
    I'm tired of getting rapped on the back of the head.
  • Angryface01 2012/07/19 07:36:23
    Like
    Angryface01
    Honestly, my opinion is more like NEUTRAL. I believe that all music is valid and should be considered an expression even when we don't like it. I've never liked Picasso's work, and many would call me un-evolved for that opinion. However, there are a few rap artists who create unbelievable works. Some of these artists write poetry that if read for content rather than beat, would blow your mind.
  • Tom R 007 2012/07/19 07:17:16
    Hate
    Tom R 007
    +2
    Put a "c" in front of the word and you've got my opinion.
  • Vijay Pawar 2012/07/19 06:14:06
    Like
    Vijay Pawar
    +1
    Rap is a part of music, if sung nicely & with meaning in it, the message can be delivered.....it's main goal.
  • Iamfree 2012/07/19 05:23:07 (edited)
    Dislike
    Iamfree
    +1
    I think there is some great talent and skill in some rap, but too much of it is populated by haters, misogynists, and just plain racists. The obscenity makes it too horrible to listen to. A shame really.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/04/20 21:11:27

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals