Quantcast

'The Hobbit' Is Getting Mixed Reviews: Is Three Hours Too Long for a Movie?

The Big Question 2012/12/11 21:49:31
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Add a comment above

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • sundance whateve... 2012/12/11 23:29:02
    sundance
    The world of Tolkien is mesmerizing is it not? I read the Hobbit, for the first time at seven. I have read everything ( yes, including the stuff no one has ever heard of) Tolkien wrote, and have yet to find anything I don't like, or recommend. I own all the extended cuts, and still watch them back to back....Just a thought...
  • Alex 2012/12/11 23:02:52
    No
    Alex
    Not if the movie is as awesome as I'm sure The Hobbit will be.
  • TKramar 2012/12/11 22:58:31
    Yes
    TKramar
    Hard enough to sit through a half hour program on TV.
  • Tordgaard 2012/12/11 22:51:07
    Yes
    Tordgaard
    It's too long for me.
  • lillian.mossinlanggaard 2012/12/11 22:47:27
    Yes
    lillian.mossinlanggaard
    I tend to drink too much cola when in the cinema. My bladder would simply erupt if I went for a three hour movie
  • bootlegga 2012/12/11 22:38:23
    Yes
    bootlegga
    It all depends - some 3 hour long movies were fantastic (Dances with Wolves, Lawrence of Arabia, Ben Hur), while others (like King Kong [2005]) were not.
  • Sister Jean 2012/12/11 22:32:05
    No
    Sister Jean
    +1
    depends on movie Gone with Wind is and I've seen it many times
  • Michelle 2012/12/11 22:31:57
    No
    Michelle
    +2
    Yes and no. In theatres, I think there should be an intermission for a movie that long because of movie theatre drinks.

    I haven't seen The Hobbit, but I know it was a long book (which I also haven't read yet). I'm sure it has enough plot to sustain a three hour movie without getting boring-- how the filmwriters handled it could have made it so, though.
  • Josie 2012/12/11 22:31:34
    No
    Josie
    +1
    if a movie's really good,you never want it to end ! The Hobbit is an unexpected journey, so what awesome journey last less than 3 hours ?
  • Horace 2012/12/11 22:30:35
    Yes
    Horace
    +3
    Not only is 3 hours too long for 1 movie but 9 hours (the combined length of 3 of these things) is ridiculously long for one 200 page book!
  • Rob Clary 2012/12/11 22:30:19
    Yes
    Rob Clary
    +2
    Usually, but LOTR is not a mere movie but an epic event!
  • The Tree of Life 2012/12/11 22:21:01
    No
    The Tree of Life
    +2
    I just hope it matches up with the image I have in my head after reading the book. :) As long as the movie is fascinating and keeps the viewer interested, then 3 hours should be no problem.
  • Astoria Malfoy♥ Bass Redfer... 2012/12/11 22:16:30
    No
    Astoria Malfoy♥ Bass Redfern ~*In Harry Potter I Trust
    +2
    Its THE HOBBIT!!!!
    Not some boring movie like Titanic!!!
  • Ian 2012/12/11 22:13:41
    Yes
    Ian
    +1
    If they make it a good film 3 hours can be ok, sometimes they make it longer when shorter would have been better.
  • Jenna ☮♡ッ 2012/12/11 22:09:11
    Yes
    Jenna ☮♡ッ
    +3
    I don't usually like movies that are over 2 hours long. I have a short attention span and start to get bored/fidgety.
  • Onew Sangtae 2012/12/11 22:08:58
    No
    Onew Sangtae
    +2
    LOTR's were about just as long. And they were amazing. Get away from your cellphones, facebook, television set, etc. and just enjoy something else for 3 hours for once.
  • Kigan 2012/12/11 22:08:18
    No
    Kigan
    +1
    Not necessarily.

    However, when you have a movie based on a book the length of "The Hobbit" - and the movie is only roughly 1/3 of the book based on the three movie division - then the movie might be a bit long at 3 hours.
  • afterburn610 2012/12/11 22:05:28
    Yes
    afterburn610
    +1
    It can be

    but when I saw fellowship I wanted more when it was over
  • Walt 2012/12/11 22:04:04
    No
    Walt
    +1
    No, that's not too long, considering how much movie theater tickets cost.

    Just be sure not to drink a Big Gulp before going to the movies.
  • moriarty 2012/12/11 22:00:32
    No
    moriarty
    +2
    the last movie, Return of the King was almost three hours. if I remember correctly. They were good movies. Far better then those awful Star Wars prequels. The Hobbit is sure to be amazing movie.
  • Pete 2012/12/11 21:58:49
    No
    Pete
    +1
    Going Later this week....and lookin' forward to it. Sometimes I think 2 hour movies are too short....they go by too quickly in the theater.
  • Dave The Canuck 2012/12/11 21:58:23
    No
    Dave The Canuck
    +9
    Not if the movie is something amazing like The Hobbit.
  • BlackwinterG36C 2012/12/11 21:55:02
    No
    BlackwinterG36C
    +3
    No good movie can be too long. And no bad movie can be too short.
  • JuliaLoren 2012/12/11 21:54:18
  • kevracer 2012/12/11 21:53:43 (edited)
    Yes
    kevracer
    +2
    do they issue diapers along with the movie tickets?

    depends
  • Josie kevracer 2012/12/11 22:32:48
    Josie
    +1
    haha ^.^
  • Kibbles 2012/12/11 21:52:40
    No
    Kibbles
    +3
    Not if the movie makes me forget about the time.
  • Jiorgia 2012/12/11 21:52:00
    No
    Jiorgia
    +1
    although maybe it could have an interval...

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/12/23 03:03:32

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals