Quantcast

Seth MacFarlane Gets Mixed Reviews As Oscars Host: Was He Awful or Amazing?

Film 2013/02/25 12:43:41
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Going into the 85th Academy Awards, many described Seth MacFarlane, who is best known for creating the show “Family Guy,” as a risky choice for the host. And while some thought his performance was amazing, others were not so impressed.

MacFarlane sang, danced, and doled out jabs all around. Many of his digs were in good fun: "Last year Jean Dujardin won best actor for ‘The Artist’—and look now he's everywhere." However, others were more mean-spirited, such as when he claimed that Chris Brown and Rihanna would call “Django Unchained,” Quentin Tarantino’s violent film, a “date movie.”

One of the most memorable moments of his monologue was the song “We Saw Your Boobs,” in which he checked off actresses in the room who had gone topless for their respective films. As the cameras panned to the women mentioned, some seem amused while others were less than pleased. This was just one of many moments that some deemed sexist and others deemed hilarious.

So SodaHeads, what did you think of Seth MacFarlane’s performance as Oscars host? Was it awful or amazing?

Read More: http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-207_162-57570992/seth-...

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • Jack's Pearl 2013/02/25 13:04:42
    Amazing
    Jack's Pearl
    +12
    I actually liked him a lot. And the music theme idea was fantastic. I like how he made it obvious at times that it wasn't him who wrote jokes and things personally. He was there to present what was planned and that was it.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Goldneye 2013/03/04 06:11:02
    Awful
    Goldneye
    Sadly, he was just not funny
  • James 2013/03/01 16:40:27
    Amazing
    James
    He's great.
  • USER DEACTIVATED 2013/03/01 00:29:33
    Amazing
    USER DEACTIVATED
    LOVE LOVE LOOOOOOVE Seth MacFarlane!
  • katywon 2013/02/28 01:43:58
    Amazing
    katywon
    He gave it a good shot. Would you rather have Billy Crystal every year?
  • gunner 2013/02/27 19:19:56
    Awful
    gunner
    I`d rather watch paint dry, than waste time watching the oscars
  • jabo 2013/02/26 21:38:59
    Amazing
    jabo
    You should have more choices. Lots of space between amazing and awful.
  • Zoe Michele 2013/02/26 21:24:34
    Amazing
    Zoe Michele
    I was a little worried but he did a great job. I think making light of everyone's fears of what he would do was taking the bull by the horns. And besides he is a great singer and dancer. I wish he'd do it again.
  • JS 2013/02/26 19:58:51
    Amazing
    JS
    I liked the edgy sense of humor he brought to the Oscars.
  • codie.paul 2013/02/26 19:07:19 (edited)
    Awful
    codie.paul
    Well i wouldnt say either, but of course they make ya choose. I would say he was alright. I really didnt care for the Lincoln crack at all though. That was a bit over the line. I dont care how many years it has been. Making fun of him is just not at all funny. Him and Ted should have done some jokes though. Haha that was cute and cool and funny, Ted being on the Oscars. But whats to be expected from Seth? He is a man of controversy and pushing the envelope. It isnt excusable, its just him. He is good and funny sometimes though.He wasnt awful. And if you think so obviously you dont like him. And if you dont like the Oscars obviously you dont like award shows, or dont have a good understanding and appreciate for movies. And have no business commenting here. But i really dont see how someone could other then that. They are the biggest night in movies. Enough said there. And Judd Apatow isnt that funny, same with his movies, except funny people. That went a bit too far though.
  • Stef and the City 2013/02/26 19:02:31 (edited)
    Amazing
    Stef and the City
    I didn't watch but I'm sure it wasn't awful. Offensive to some maybe but have you watched Family Guy? That's just Seth's sense of humor.
  • Fef 2013/02/26 18:40:19
    Awful
    Fef
    Making fun of Abraham Lincoln's assassination doesn't count as funny or amusing -- but crude and disrespectful. Even the elitist Hollywood audience booed at his sick joke.

    Though, the Hollywood audience would have laughed if he made fun of shooting George W. Bush.
  • lolo 2013/02/26 18:04:37
    Awful
    lolo
    I don't even know who this guy is. What does he do to make him famous. Surely it isn't comedy because he is NOT funny at all.
  • Emily 2013/02/26 18:03:53
  • TombstoneJim 2013/02/26 17:47:06
    Awful
    TombstoneJim
    I didn't watch - kind of a stupid telecast anyway - but the out take sI saw where pretty offensive.....even of Hollywood.
  • Ken 2013/02/26 17:10:01
    Amazing
    Ken
    Actually somewhere between "Awful" and "Amazing." Some of his over-the-top humor fell flat, such as the song and dance routine "We Saw Your Boobs", the best moment of which was Jennifer Lawrence celebrating when they sang that they hadn't seen hers.

    http://www.trbimg.com/img-512... we saw your boobs we saw your boobs Jennifer lawrence
  • Stef an... Ken 2013/02/26 19:00:39
    Stef and the City
    +1
    Look at the man beside Jennifer and the woman behind her. Talk about prude.
  • Ken Stef an... 2013/02/26 20:10:22 (edited)
    Ken
    +1
    Yes, you could tell from the looks on the faces of everyone you can see in the shot except Jennifer that they were wondering WTH?, rolling their eyes and looking at one-another. It really didn't go over all that well as Charlize Theron's reaction indicates.
  • FlyGalsMom Ken 2013/02/27 00:52:14 (edited)
    FlyGalsMom
    Well Jennifer just turned 22 ~ she was also caught on camera giving the finger to the photographers and was pretty rude to Jack Nicolson because he flirted with her~ here is a guy who is one of the best actors in the world being made fun of by a NEWCOMER to the world of Oscars because he flirted~ if he were 25 she probably would have draped herself on him~ Bottom line is even the newer "kids" in HollyWeird are pretty raunchy themselves~ and have no respect for the elder veterans of their own craft~~IMO
  • Ken FlyGalsMom 2013/02/27 04:06:17
    Ken
    +1
    He's also a 75-year-old man making a fool of himself who richly deserved being made fun of, "legend" or not. Also, you would probably "flip off" the paparazzi too if you were pursued by them the way she is.
  • ♥Gabs1697♥ 2013/02/26 15:48:18
    Amazing
    ♥Gabs1697♥
    Didn't watch the oscars..
  • Nikki 2013/02/26 15:47:02
    Awful
    Nikki
    I love the guy but this was not his type of crowd.
  • Josie 2013/02/26 15:42:42
    Awful
    Josie
    +1
    I didn't watch it but I heard it was awful...

    seth macfarlane Jennifer tumblr
    seth macfarlane Jennifer tumblr
    seth macfarlane Jennifer tumblr
  • CAPISCE 2013/02/26 14:32:26 (edited)
    Awful
    CAPISCE
    +1
    Seth Sucked

    ://selinuxsucks.com/That-Suck... seth sucked selinuxsucks comthat-suck
  • PJ Sweet Cheeks 2013/02/26 13:59:11 (edited)
    Amazing
    PJ  Sweet Cheeks
    +1
    He is a nice man, whats the problem?
  • Beverly Greenwood 2013/02/26 13:21:01
    Amazing
    Beverly Greenwood
    +1
    This is one of the best awards show, I thought he was funny and move things along. I loved the musical numbers.
  • ttfndude 2013/02/26 12:07:24
    Amazing
    ttfndude
    +1
    I wouldn't say he was awful, it was decent.......he sure wasn't amazing either, I am still waiting on another Billy Crystal act
    course it didn't help that the whole "Bond" tribute was borish and a waste of time
  • Don Pink 2013/02/26 10:15:31
    Amazing
    Don Pink
    +2
    He's doing his thing.
  • .: LiVi :. 2013/02/26 09:02:26
    Amazing
    .: LiVi :.
    +1
    He was funny. Ricky Gervais was my favourite
  • Moodybloo70 2013/02/26 07:44:33
    Amazing
    Moodybloo70
    +1
    I think he did a great job.
  • Red Rage 2013/02/26 06:57:36
    Amazing
    Red Rage
    Didn't watch this crap so could care less.
  • sally 2013/02/26 05:46:58
    Amazing
    sally
    It's not his fault he might have come out as a sexist pig, the fault falls among those who wrote the jokes for him. I thought he handled it pretty well and was more than pleased with the way he presented himself and the jokes he had.
  • roxie 2013/02/26 05:23:39
    Amazing
    roxie
    Did a great Job!
  • cmg1985 2013/02/26 05:21:33
    Awful
    cmg1985
    the word shmuck comes to mind every time I hear his name but what do you expect it is the oscars
  • dontgetmestarted 2013/02/26 04:50:02
    Awful
    dontgetmestarted
    ZZZZZZZZZZZ.....
  • nightcrawler2005 2013/02/26 04:45:18
    Awful
    nightcrawler2005
    Sorry IMO I thought he was awful. A very flat performance.
    The show wasn't really that good. The only really high point was Shirley Bassey.
  • Bob 2013/02/26 03:41:39
    Amazing
    Bob
    Good man...I bet he is Conservative.
  • jeepster4 Bob 2013/02/26 04:04:40
  • Bob jeepster4 2013/02/26 04:15:26
    Bob
    Well, dang! We are being overrun by libs.
  • roxie Bob 2013/02/26 05:24:16
    roxie
    He's not
  • Bob roxie 2013/03/11 02:53:22
    Bob
    Hope not, God we have enough of them

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/09/01 11:30:54

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals