Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > The 'Titanic' Song Will Go On

Music 2012/04/02 13:00:00
"Titanic" is going to hit theaters once again this Friday, this time in 3D, and for diehard fans that's no doubt great news. For stars of the legendary film, like Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet, it's bittersweet. Interviewers and reporters finally have an excuse to return to a subject Leo and Kate were glad to be rid of, and perhaps more importantly, that Celine Dion song. You know the one: "Near, far, wherever you are, I believe that the heart does go on," etc., etc., flute solo, etc. In fact, Kate's so sick of it, she says it literally makes her sick to her stomach. And can you blame her? Even the best of songs will grate the nerves when played too often. We wanted to know how the public feels.



There were plenty of people siding with Winslet on this one but, unfortunately for her, the majority still love the song. It didn't win an Oscar for nothing. The words most people used to describe it were "beautiful" and "classic." On the other side of the fence, most people admitted they never liked it in the first place. One commenter wrote, "I was sick of it after 3 seconds of hearing it for the first time." However, there were some who only turned on the song because of its... frequency. Another commenter wrote, "I worked in a place that had multiple radios, so I was subjected to this dirge literally all day every day, day in day out. It would finish on one station and start up again on another."

For the Ladies

Though "Titanic" went down as a critical success, genre be damned, the fact remains that it was, more or less, a chick flick; and Celine Dion, though she has an objectively admirable voice, is more appreciated by women than by men. So it comes as no surprise that women were 17% more likely to love the song 15 years later.

Doesn't Age Well

Ah, now we get to the root of the results. Most of the song's support came from teens and young adults -- specifically the 13-24 crowd. When the movie came out in 1997, they would have been the 0-9 crowd. No wonder they aren't sick of it. Everyone else is so over it. Although, voters over 55 did start to show interest again.

Driven to Drink

Drinkers were about 20% more likely to be sick of the "Titanic" theme song, so here's our theory. Drinkers make up approximately 35% of the total sample base, and 20% of 35% is 7%. It seems reasonable to suggest that having to hear "My Heart Will Go On" every ten minutes for weeks on end would drive approximately 7% of the population to drink.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about the "Titanic" song. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • mac9 2012/09/07 15:57:08
    mac9
    Absolutely!
  • RevBH 2012/05/21 23:33:47
    RevBH
    It SUCKS. Always has, always will.
  • jujunme 2012/05/12 18:09:27
    jujunme
    I love the song and never get tired of hearing it.and Celine sings it beautifully.
  • ♥♥♥AznGurl92♥♥♥ 2012/05/02 15:40:37
    ♥♥♥AznGurl92♥♥♥
    I love this song. It will always be one of my favorites
  • SneakyPete 2012/04/27 19:10:49
    SneakyPete
    Still one of my favorites....
  • fcombs 2012/04/19 01:13:15
    fcombs
    I will always love this song. It came out shortly after I lost my only child - my son. It will always be about him for me. I can hear the first few strains of that song and the tears flow. It's a beautiful song.
  • Black_Rose 2012/04/11 20:45:02
    Black_Rose
    I do like the song, because the only time I hear it is when I watch the movie, which is every now and then.
  • Haifa Bourguiba 2012/04/07 21:32:47
    Haifa Bourguiba
    it's amazing that people still listen to it;it's a good song but it's getting old that song is as old as i am amazing!!!!!!!
  • Natalie 2012/04/06 03:21:56
    Natalie
    I love this song so much. I also love this movie and I really want to go watch it in 3-D. Also...I'm proud that it was made the year I was born. :)
  • CuppieCakes18 2012/04/05 22:50:30
    CuppieCakes18
    It's a good song, but it was so overplayed that people got sick of it really quickly.
  • Blonde Angel 2012/04/05 21:12:03
    Blonde Angel
    +1
    I love this song, the movie Titanic and the song My heart will go on are stuck in my mind and soul forever !!!
  • Sami Shah 2012/04/05 10:19:05
    Sami Shah
    +1
    best song ever heard
  • ST4567 2012/04/04 19:46:37 (edited)
    ST4567
    The movie was great when it first came out. Now they just want to get money off of it again just by putting it in 3D. Well I want to get what I paid for. I want a completely new experience of the Titanic. Of course I want 3D action, but I don't want to just hear the song, I want the song played with a semi mix to it, and I want a small poster given to me on my way out the door from the movie.

    To make things short, I want something new and refreshed. If that means adding something new to the classic song I want it done.
  • stl.shamrock 2012/04/04 18:49:13
    stl.shamrock
    As long as there are "sparkly" vampires this song won't die... (Yes, I'm aware that they are from 2 different movies, but the fanbase seems to be about the same.)
  • Rabbit 2012/04/04 18:29:29
  • Max7 2012/04/04 18:25:17
    Max7
    Good, it wouldn't seem like The Titantic without hearing that dynamic voice of Celine Dion
  • Luver 2012/04/04 17:40:38
    Luver
    I can't help myself. I giggle uncontrollably whenever I hear it.
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/04/04 17:17:21
    Margaret Jacobson
    liked the movie........some...........s... oh well!!!
  • firozali a mulla 2012/04/04 17:04:49
    firozali a mulla
    Indians singer Sonu Nigham has tried to song this but he is with five rings in the nose two in the ears one in the head sound like the LP playing with the needle cracked at times but he tried. I thank you Firozali A.Mulla DBA The song will die. many new young ones are coming Like Mara dona songs are dead so will other die
  • chrisrules_493 2012/04/04 14:20:09
    chrisrules_493
    hmmm....great when it came out and now a lil bit over played...maybe if remixed
  • Frankly Milano 2012/04/04 13:54:12
  • Amina 2012/04/04 13:27:06
    Amina
    +3
    I love te Titanic song, I sang it for my mother in the old folks home and then she died a few months later...
  • firozal... Amina 2012/04/04 17:06:24
    firozali a mulla
    first correct your English no malice , no pun but toffee eating and writing are two things I thank you Firozali A.Mulla DBA
  • RevBH Amina 2012/05/21 23:37:48
    RevBH
    Wow. It's bad, but I didn't know it was THAT bad. This is clear evidence that NO ONE should ever sing it again, especially to their moms. Poor Moms.
  • Minda Snyman 2012/04/04 11:16:12
    Minda Snyman
    +3
    Just love this song. Brings back memories over and over again.
  • firozal... Minda S... 2012/04/04 17:08:14
    firozali a mulla
    whats new pussy cat? I thank you Firozali A.Mulla DBA
  • RevBH Minda S... 2012/05/21 23:39:13
    RevBH
    Reminds me of Monica Lewinsky fantasizing about her and Clinton as Kate and Leo out on the bow. Ick. Super, mega ick.
  • Sylmkael 2012/04/04 08:57:57
    Sylmkael
    If was good then. Did it get a 'remake'? Perhaps with a little more beat
  • Catnip 2012/04/04 06:20:18
    Catnip
    Shoot me if I here that song one more time!
  • Jerry (Iron Priest)☮ R ☮ P ☮ 201
    It really sucks and does not rock at all. It makes me want to puke too. Good for Kate; she has good taste.
  • Rocky 2012/04/04 02:21:58
    Rocky
    This song is overdone - overworked - etc. Make it go away! It was nice in it's day -- long time ago.
  • El Prez 2012/04/04 02:16:22
    El Prez
    You can't kill it with a stick!!!!
  • Ozymandias 2012/04/03 23:35:28
  • Drachen 2012/04/03 23:18:12
    Drachen
    down with celine dion

    I think this was rigged..
  • Rory 2012/04/03 21:07:01
    Rory
    +1
    I don't cry when I hear it and I don't go to youtube and be like "OMG!!!b I HAVE TO HEAR THIS SONG!!!" I think it's a good song. That's probably because I've heard it in moderation though.
  • Bibliophilic 2012/04/03 20:03:21
    Bibliophilic
    +1
    It will go on like a cockroach with no head.
  • BrittInTx 2012/04/03 17:14:14
    BrittInTx
    Holy canoli, the film originally came out in 1997? Ok, I feel old. What was the question again?? Oh yes, the song...it's ok, I still remember the words when I hear it, but it dosen't make me cry or feel the need to watch the dvd.
  • Get Bashed 2012/04/03 14:57:51
    Get Bashed
    I think Trey Parker & the South Park gang said it best...."Blame Canada!"
  • freakou... Get Bashed 2012/04/03 18:54:51
    freakoutnow... cuz mom's here
    +1
    Yep. Justin Bieber is Canadian so that works!
  • Rie~ 2012/04/03 08:48:20
    Rie~
    its awesome n_n

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/07/31 23:59:06

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals