Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 'The Notebook' Is the Greatest Cheesy Romance

Film 2012/06/05 17:00:00
You can try and fight it, but sooner or later you're bound to see a cheesy romance that chokes you up and tugs at your saccharine little heart. Whether it's a bladed realism of tragedies like "Titanic" and "The Notebook," or the silly sentimentality of "50 First Dates" or "You've Got Mail," something's gonna get ya. We wanted to know what the most popular cheesy romance is, so we asked the public.



"The Notebook"

"The Notebook" is a tragic tale of death-do-us-part based on the best-selling 1996 Nicholas Sparks book. We don't want to give too much away, but the sheer emotional impact of the frame story is enough to bring a grown man to tears. If you can somehow manage to make it through without tearing up... Well, we won't believe you.

"Titanic"

We're actually kind of surprised "Titanic" didn't win by a landslide. It was the highest-grossing film of all time for more than a decade, after all. We have no qualms about giving this one away: Leo appears, Leo falls in love, Leo dies, girls cry. It's a golden formula. There's also something about a ship?

"50 First Dates"

"50 First Dates" is kind of like "Groundhog Day." Only Bill Murray is a chick and Punxsutawney is in Oahu. And he isn't actually reliving the same day; he's just crazy. Also Adam Sandler is there, and he's not terrible. It's kind of unrealistic. But cute! Anyway, it's the highest-ranked romcom on the list, so props for that.

More Cheese

This wouldn't be complete without a list of write-ins: "10 Things I Hate About You" (Top Opinion), "Moulin Rouge," "Pride and Prejudice," "Bridget Jones's Diary," "Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist," "27 Dresses," "Say Anything," "Roxanne," "(500) Days of Summer," "The Holiday," "City of Angels," "Valley of the Dolls," and plenty more.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about cheesy romances. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Leo 2013/02/21 15:41:10
    Leo
    Sorry - I don't think "greatest" and "cheesy romance" belong in the same sentence.
  • dlsofsetx 2013/02/21 02:54:22
    dlsofsetx
    I never saw any of them.
  • Ben 2013/02/20 23:01:35 (edited)
    Ben
    i have not watched none of those up thee besided the titanic, and sadly I watched that for the first time, this year. [ I failed as a 90s baby] besided twilight, i read the book.
  • baby cakes 826 2013/02/20 22:46:56
    baby cakes 826
    The Notebook is one of my favorites! What a great story =)
  • Hamilton 2013/02/20 22:45:37
    Hamilton
    Loved "the notebook" and "you've got mail" and before you ask my wife hates that I am such a mush.
  • holly go lightly 2013/02/20 19:57:05
    holly go lightly
    What is cheesy about it?
  • Jack's Pearl 2013/02/20 19:40:22
    Jack's Pearl
    The Notebook is one of my favorite books ever! And excellent example of the human heart. And the movie was decent too.
  • lin sugar lips 2013/02/20 19:38:51
    lin sugar lips
    The Note Book is one of my most favorite movies ever and The first time I like a movie better than the book. Nicholas Sparks is a very good writer
  • mac9 2012/09/07 15:52:34
    mac9
    It sucks....I would rather visit the dentist.
  • Lefty 2012/08/01 10:49:12
    Lefty
    Even I love that movie as my favorite. I'm sure you can tell by my affection for the GOP
  • Look YourWay 2012/06/20 04:40:36
    Look YourWay
    +3
    The notebook made me cry!
  • YourGurll<3 2012/06/11 19:58:54
    YourGurll<3
    +3
    I didn't think it was cheesy at all <3 just perfect <3
  • Kaola 2012/06/11 08:05:53
    Kaola
    +2
    it was so romantic
  • Rural Charmer 2012/06/09 11:29:28
    Rural Charmer
    +2
    Love actually is the greatest Romance of all time
  • salemslot9 2012/06/08 14:39:54
    salemslot9
    I only watched The Notebook because 'Rockfish' is in it...enjoyed it...I like Say Anything Rockfish
  • i <3 becca 2012/06/06 17:59:17
    i <3 becca
    its alright
  • Vijay Pawar 2012/06/06 17:55:53
    Vijay Pawar
    +1
    In all history on love & it's fate, the end is always tragic, so a tragic end dose not deduct points.
  • Emelya 2012/06/06 16:30:50
    Emelya
    +2
    I didn't think it was cheesy
  • Jewel 2012/06/06 14:16:29
    Jewel
    +2
    I love City Of Angels. ANd it helps I'm a big romantic at heart.:)
  • **StarzAbove** 2012/06/06 13:37:01
    **StarzAbove**
    +2
    I love this movie and I watch it every chance I get. It's wonderful.
  • +Harmonious Love+ 2012/06/06 12:31:36
  • Twinkle +Harmon... 2012/06/06 17:57:55
  • sarah 2012/06/06 08:23:21
    sarah
    +2
    The notebook is amazing and titanic they are both in the same league I also love Bridget jones dairy it's a comedy and love movie it's well cute same with the holiday and 27 dresses :)
  • Xinea 2012/06/06 07:23:27
    Xinea
    Oh, definitely moulin rouge. Nicholas Sparks irks me.
  • crazy:) 2012/06/06 05:36:10
    crazy:)
    i like the movie a walk to remember and the movie the pursuit of happiness though that movie isn't a "romance" movie i dont think but its GREAT
  • JingerJewels 2012/06/06 04:45:21
  • Twinkle JingerJ... 2012/06/06 17:58:11
    Twinkle
    That movie was sad and dumb.
  • bluebird 2012/06/06 03:29:54
    bluebird
    "TITANIC"!
  • Pam 2012/06/06 02:05:55
    Pam
    +2
    I cried all the way through "P.S. I Love You". Omg did I cry!
  • normany.burfield 2012/06/06 02:05:32
    normany.burfield
    +6
    Notebook is the BEST by far. My husband even likes that movie. I watch it any time it's on.
  • Katherine the Renaissance W... 2012/06/06 00:32:32
    Katherine the Renaissance Woman
    Dirty Dancing is not a "cheesy romance" so if it comes down to it, then yeah.

    I really HATE Nicholas Sparks. I think his writing is poor and his subject matter repetitive, but I admit the movie rendition of The Notebook was good.
  • Gothamjedi311 \m/ 2012/06/05 23:33:00
    Gothamjedi311 \m/
    +2
    It was a Good Movie...But so was this one.
    What Dreams may come
    ...okay, maybe not in the same catagory. \m/
  • Katheri... Gothamj... 2012/06/06 00:33:15
    Katherine the Renaissance Woman
    +1
    That's on netflix. I've been debating watching it. If you recommend it, I'll watch it. :)
  • Gothamj... Katheri... 2012/06/06 00:53:23
    Gothamjedi311 \m/
    +1
    I Do.
    I'd let ya' borrow 'My DVD if I could. lol
    I've seen it many times already. Awesome. \m/
  • Katheri... Gothamj... 2012/06/06 00:54:07
    Katherine the Renaissance Woman
    +1
    :D
    Great. That's okay. Like I said, it's on Netflix :)
  • Samantha 2012/06/05 23:25:06
    Samantha
    Hell yes! i dont think anything has been better if ur talking in terms of sopy long cheesy romances. titanic would probably be close but that got more drama and suspence and less cheese factor
  • Call me Mark willya? 2012/06/05 22:16:48
    Call me Mark willya?
    +1
    Ahem!!! haven't seen it, don't want to, don't care.
  • Vicereine Killbride 2012/06/05 21:24:20
    Vicereine Killbride
    +2
    Titanic is better, in my opinion. And I just watched "The Notebook".
  • katieh1000 Vicerei... 2012/06/05 21:38:48 (edited)
    katieh1000
    +2
    oh first time watching titanic made me scared  scared
  • Clay Slayer 2012/06/05 21:09:24
    Clay Slayer
    Hugh's bimbo knows where the cash is....

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/07/24 17:54:27

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals