Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > The Beatles Are Worth $250K to Some People

Music 2012/05/09 23:00:00
"Mad Men" creator Matthew Weiner made an enormous investment on the latest episode of his show when he decided to shell out $250,000 to use a single Beatles song ("Tomorrow Never Knows") in a scene. In the scene, placed at the end of the episode, Don Draper takes a moment out of his busy life to listen to the new Beatles album, "Revolver," to try and grasp the youth culture of the day.

The lyrics ("Turn off your mind, relax and float down stream ... Love is all and love is everyone") are a stark contrast to his endlessly cynical persona, and offer viewers the rare luxury of an original Beatles song in a television show. The reason their songs are so expensive is because they like to keep their image untarnished, though it still cost $250,000 after Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, and Yoko Ono all signed off on it. But was it worth a quarter-million?



This vote couldn't have been much closer. Some people totally get why Weiner used the song. The Top Opinion read, "It is ridiculous, but considering how central to the plot this one song was, I can understand it." But some couldn't justify the exorbitant price. One commenter wrote, "While I agree that, on the whole, Beatles songs should fetch more than the average tune, the bar needs to be lowered somewhat!"

Young People Aren't Convinced

Age was clearly the deciding factor hear, and there was a distinct drop at age 35. It wasn't a complete blow-out on either side of the age break -- just a difference of 20% -- but the vote would have tipped had the age balance been just a little bit different. The Beatles are definitely still one of the most popular artists in recent history, even among youth, but young people just aren't convinced they're worth $250,000.

Smokers Think It's Too Expensive

One of the least enthusiastic demographics were smokers, who were 17% behind the overall vote. We don't think smokers are particularly opposed to The Beatles, so there must be another reason. Well, $250,000 is, like, 2.5 million cigarettes. Why would you waste that on a Beatles song you could get on iTunes for $1.29? They could have just flashed download instructions and had 2.5 million smokes.

The Well-Off Wouldn't Do It

Income brackets often reflect results similar to age groups, with lower brackets matching younger voters, but not this time. Lower income brackets, unlike young voters, were more likely to give the $250,000 buy a thumbs-up. Voters who made between $50,000 and $100,000 a year were about 20% less likely to approve, on average.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about The Beatles. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • skroehr 2012/05/14 19:06:54
    skroehr
    +3
    Capitalism. What the market will bear. The remaining artists set a price, and people pay it. If they don't, then they can use something else. Yes, the Beatles were really that important of a piece of our culture. I say more power to them. I get a little worried that once Paul and Ringo pass on, that you'll be hearing Beatles songs in and on everything, cheapening their place of musical royalty in the minds of young folks who don't remember just how big these guys were, and how much of an influence they had on music, art, poetry, fashion, politics, and even world peace. They were really something, and we'll not see the likes of them again. Not in a positive sense anyway. They wrote their songs. It was their ideas that George Martin committed to vinyl. The were one of the last pop-culture icons to have an original thought, if not THE last. Whatever they charge, hey, that's what the price is. If they don't want real diamond, they can go buy a zirconium.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Tom Degan 2012/09/21 14:36:07 (edited)
    Tom Degan
    Only $250K?

    September 11 does not need to be a sad anniversary in every instance. Were you aware of the fact that 9/11/12 marked the fiftieth anniversary of the day the Beatles walked into EMI studios in London and made their first record, "Love Me Do"? My reflections:

    http://tomdegan.blogspot.com/...

    Tom Degan

    The Beatles
  • mac9 2012/09/07 15:54:56
    mac9
    PASS..........
  • skroehr 2012/05/14 19:06:54
    skroehr
    +3
    Capitalism. What the market will bear. The remaining artists set a price, and people pay it. If they don't, then they can use something else. Yes, the Beatles were really that important of a piece of our culture. I say more power to them. I get a little worried that once Paul and Ringo pass on, that you'll be hearing Beatles songs in and on everything, cheapening their place of musical royalty in the minds of young folks who don't remember just how big these guys were, and how much of an influence they had on music, art, poetry, fashion, politics, and even world peace. They were really something, and we'll not see the likes of them again. Not in a positive sense anyway. They wrote their songs. It was their ideas that George Martin committed to vinyl. The were one of the last pop-culture icons to have an original thought, if not THE last. Whatever they charge, hey, that's what the price is. If they don't want real diamond, they can go buy a zirconium.
  • diane RN skroehr 2012/05/24 00:41:20
    diane RN
    +1
    Great post!
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/05/14 07:59:58
  • Rubyking 2012/05/12 18:53:52
    Rubyking
    nope
  • Fashionable60s 2012/05/11 14:05:29
    Fashionable60s
    +1
    Yes, if someone wants to pay that amount and could afford it, more power to him/her/it.
  • Myagooshki 2012/05/11 12:23:25
    Myagooshki
    I think that if a band makes a certain lucration from shows and CDs (perhaps over $400,000 a year) then they should be stripped of royalty priveleges. The Beatles don't need any more unecessary cash than they already have.
  • Rockangel420 2012/05/11 07:12:38
    Rockangel420
    Yes I do beileve the beatles are worth. That.
  • jackie 2012/05/10 16:57:07
    jackie
    rofl hell no.
  • LooksLikeCaramel 2012/05/10 16:52:39
    LooksLikeCaramel
    If this era is worth that then that makes the Barry McGuire,Bob Dylan,Sonny & Cher,The Rolling Stones,The Beach Boys all of the same networth.
  • moiraregis 2012/05/10 15:02:15
    moiraregis
    +2
    the beatles are ALWAYS worth it--
  • Baya Suesette 2012/05/10 12:38:31
    Baya Suesette
    +2
    I think It's worth more than that
  • Somkey the Hores 2012/05/10 10:19:24
    Somkey the Hores
    Not to me. Where's the Raid?
  • moiraregis Somkey ... 2012/05/10 15:02:55
    moiraregis
    when you find it, spray into your face, eyes open--
  • Somkey ... moiraregis 2012/05/11 01:04:48
    Somkey the Hores
    No, I won't do it the way you would.
  • TimothyBrianFoley 2012/05/10 02:25:00
    TimothyBrianFoley
    all you need is money upside down dollar bill
  • Somkey ... Timothy... 2012/05/10 10:20:18
    Somkey the Hores
    All you need is Bucks. And Aliester Crowley.
  • smidget101 2012/05/10 02:03:01
    smidget101
    The part about wealthier people being less likely to do it is probably because they spend more responsibly.
  • exsecrare smidget101 2012/05/10 06:17:56
    exsecrare
    +4
    I have worked for billionaires... They are some of the cheapest people I know
  • moiraregis smidget101 2012/05/10 15:04:17
    moiraregis
    +1
    that's because rich people are better than nonrich people.
    "If you want to know what God thinks of money, look at the people He gives it to."
  • hat man moiraregis 2012/05/10 17:43:09
    hat man
    +1
    Which God? What God? Where?
  • Somkey ... moiraregis 2012/05/11 01:05:24
    Somkey the Hores
    The love of money is the root of all evil.
  • Torchy 2012/05/10 01:09:34
    Torchy
    +2
    Yus! I was quoted! I'm famous!
  • mark Torchy 2012/05/25 04:31:08
    mark
    +1
    Careful , famous can quickly turn to infamous. Though , I suppose , even that can have its own rewards. Now , if you can just charge $250,000 for it...
  • Torchy mark 2012/05/25 14:51:54
    Torchy
    +1
    Hmmm...you may be on to something... *shifty eyes*
  • Doc 2012/05/09 23:53:18
    Doc
    +2
    Of course it's worth it. These shows make millions in profit and dig the publicity. Here we are talking about it. It's The Beatles; how much bigger could it get?

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/07/30 17:19:16

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals