Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 'The Avengers' Is the Most Anticipated Summer Movie

Film 2012/04/30 22:00:00
Summer is a time when kids and teens have few obligations and plenty of time to burn cash at the movies, giving rise to the term "summer blockbuster." Typically, the summer lineup is heavy on action -- superheroes, sci-fi, and CGI. This year, we're in for another onslaught of superhero movies including "The Dark Knight Rises," "The Avengers," and "The Amazing Spider-Man," as well as a couple of highly anticipated alien flicks, "Men in Black III" and "Prometheus." We provided a list of eight of this summer's hottest titles and asked the public which one they're most excited to see.



Everyone Loves "The Avengers"

Though the last Batman movie went down as one of the greatest films of all time, its sequel can't keep up with the hype surrounding "The Avengers." This is basically an ensemble medley of several superhero movies from the last few years. Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, and Black Widow all return with their original castings. Hulk returns with Mark Ruffalo replacing Ed Norton (who replaced Eric Bana). Throw in Nick Fury, Hawkeye, Loki, Maria Hill, and a Stan Lee cameo, and you've got a recipe for success.

"The Dark Knight" Falls

Even without Heath Ledger here to reprise his magnum opus, "The Dark Knight Rises" is easily one of the most anticipated movies of the year. Tabloids were shooting off grainy pictures of the Lazarus Pit as soon as production was off the ground, and it's been the talk of tinsel town ever since. This will be the final film in Christopher Nolan's trilogy, and we may never witness a "Batman" incarnation as worthy as his. However, it didn't receive nearly the support it might have if "Avengers" hadn't been on the list.

Women Are Waiting for "Snow White"

"The Avengers" took first place in every demographic, but "The Dark Knight Rises" did not grab a unanimous second. Female voters picked "Snow White and the Huntsman" as their second pick. Whether that was because of or in spite of Kristen Stewart's involvement is beside the point. There are a few Snow White films on the way, but this one is coming out first, and the trailer was a hit with eager audiences. You can't go wrong with Charlize Theron as the Evil Queen.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about upcoming summer movies. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • awillis 2012/05/15 15:40:16
    awillis
    I'm ready for MIB3.
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/05/14 07:57:52
    Fariborz-Zak
    somewhat
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/05/14 07:57:45
    Fariborz-Zak
    somewhat
  • Rebecca Louise 2012/05/10 01:01:55 (edited)
    Rebecca Louise
    it rightly was!! i loved it!! it was amazing!!! :).

    Thor ; D <3
  • addie 2012/05/08 20:59:48
    addie
    The precise reason I avoid, almost all people, they are, morons!
    Old people are all I can tolerate, anymore, if anyone.
  • switish 2012/05/02 16:03:48
    switish
    its another 'i already know whats gonna happen' blockbuster to waste money on...
  • RasHooD 2012/05/02 12:53:07 (edited)
    RasHooD
    watch the new thriller of the dark knight rises #3.....then talk about wich is the beast
    |\_|^^|_/|
    \---..---/
    .....V.....
  • Lady Macabre 2012/05/02 11:01:29
    Lady Macabre
    Other than the writing seeming a bit off in places, The Avengers was pretty damn good for a superhero flick.
  • Platinum Fangs 2012/05/02 04:11:06
    Platinum Fangs
    Say what you will now, but all of this will be irrelevant once D.K.R. comes out.
  • Cain2012~POTL~PWCM~JLA 2012/05/01 23:30:18
  • Cricket Cain201... 2012/05/02 00:11:04
    Cricket
    +1
    Me too!
  • Cain201... Cricket 2012/05/02 00:18:03
  • Cricket Cain201... 2012/05/02 00:38:34
    Cricket
    +1
    ;):) Imagine a wink~~ lol She looked too cute to not post.

    sexy snow white gif
  • Cain201... Cricket 2012/05/02 23:58:03
  • Kyle 2012/05/01 23:29:43
    Kyle
    I can't wait for The Dark Knight Rises.
  • pyromaniaticwhale17 2012/05/01 21:53:44
    pyromaniaticwhale17
    +2


    Wait, we’re supposed to be fighting Loki? I thought you said “have lattes with.”
  • AdWhois 2012/05/01 20:08:26
    AdWhois
    Judging by how well it's doing over seas, and by its critic reviews, AND by the fact that it's a current Marvel movie I'm sure we'll be nothing short of delighted.

    I'm surprised that Battleship wasn't on this list, since they claim it to be the summers biggest blockbuster (lol)
  • TimothyBrianFoley 2012/05/01 19:58:39
    TimothyBrianFoley
    avengers overrated now where are the promotions for snow white and the huntsman snow white and the huntsman poster snow white and the huntsman poster snow white and the huntsman poster
    enough from the avengers need to take things up a notch
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/05/01 19:29:36
    Margaret Jacobson
    Maybe I will see it in the fall ??
  • kthulhu 2012/05/01 18:57:09
    kthulhu
    just from seeing the latest trailer of prometheus, im far more excited for that than the others. though from the looks of it, it's more of a "smart" movie, whereas avengers is pretty dumb (note - im excited for avengers too). batman is probably going to fall kinda between the two in terms of smartness. don't know yet which will be the best. i'm especially excited for prometheus since it's ridley scott's return to scifi.
  • Rachel 2012/05/01 17:28:59
    Rachel
    The Avengers was okay.

    But I think the Dark Knight would deliver more - story wise.
  • 001 2012/05/01 17:12:41
    001
    I have seen The Avengers, and it was fun. The story was not that great but it was funny and there are some awesome action-packed bits in it.
  • Lucy Sparkles :3 2012/05/01 16:04:29
    Lucy Sparkles :3
    another one? really?

    not excited
  • Willski 2012/05/01 13:48:18
    Willski
    understandable. We'll probably all be disappointed though...
  • MrFabulous47 2012/05/01 07:04:33
    MrFabulous47
    I'd go with "The Dark Knight Rises" because the second movie was so fricking good and left so many questions open that people will be lining up for weeks to see it. Personally, I have been waiting for "Prometheus" for 33 years & can not imagine what Ridley Scott is going to come up with with the ridiculously talented cast he recruited and the over $200M budget he can play with. I will be seriously bummed if it sucks.
  • mr echo 2012/05/01 06:31:48
    mr echo
    bad idea bringing all the heroes together
    all of them are from different worlds comeon it doesnt make sense
  • Kyle mr echo 2012/05/01 23:28:40
    Kyle
    They're not from different worlds they all inhabit the same universe.
  • mr echo Kyle 2012/05/01 23:30:10
    mr echo
    idk about that ,even if so it still doesnt make sense
  • Kyle mr echo 2012/05/01 23:32:34
    Kyle
    +1
    It's true, all the superheros from the Marvel Universe are all there in the same Earth. If they didn't inhabit the same world then the Avengers wouldn't exist. Same thing with the Justice League.
  • Jay Theyme 2012/05/01 06:22:43
    Jay Theyme
    The Avengers was good I thought. More for the sake of just jam-packed shooting, flying, crazy explosions. I'm not a huge CGI fan (when inside live-action) so things like a giant cartoon Hulk annoyed me. I did like the effects on Ironman flying, halting, using the jets .. seems improved.
    But I didn't care for the Thor or Loki stuff. It had enough 'meh' acting, lame scenes and I dunno.. definitely 'eye-candy explosions' entertainment value if you like that stuff.
  • vdehl 2012/05/01 05:29:37
    vdehl
    The Avengers, of course.
  • Justin.Long 2012/05/01 03:48:18
    Justin.Long
    Preordered my ticket gonna be epic
  • Bibliophilic 2012/05/01 03:22:45
    Bibliophilic
    +4
    I expect it to be a typical superhero flick. How exciting.

    bored cat
  • some id... Bibliop... 2012/05/01 04:02:24
    some idiot who thinks he knows everything
    +4
    that's probably the best cat "meh" pic ever.
  • jackie 2012/05/01 03:21:54
    jackie
    +1
    MEN IN BLACK
  • Gregaj7 2012/05/01 02:37:13
    Gregaj7
    Waiting on the DVD.
  • Zion21 2012/05/01 01:54:14
    Zion21
    I can't wait to see this in theaters and make my order for it on dvd on Amazon!





  • boatnectar 2012/05/01 01:32:41
  • ϟ Emma ϟ_♥loves♥supernatural♥
    +1
    i watched it (LOVED IT)..so yeah...i'm waiting for 'Snow white and the Huntsman'
  • GLaDOS 2012/04/30 22:44:05
    GLaDOS
    +2
    >_> 'Men in Black' is a comic book, too.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/09/20 14:11:15

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals