Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Nicki Minaj Is Better Than Lil' Kim

Music 2012/02/21 14:00:00
Nicki Minaj is easily the most well-known female rapper in the industry right now, and to prove it she was the first female to top Billboard's Hot Rap Songs charts since 2003 -- the year Lil' Kim topped the chart with "Magic Stick." But she's got plenty of naysayers, and Lil' Kim is one of her most vocal critics. We decided to take the beef to the public to find out how others felt about the female rapper face-off. Is Lil' Kim right about Minaj's supposed lack of skill, or is she just jealous that the new star has dethroned her?

Lil' Kim Disses Nicki Minaj (Again): Who Do You Like More?


55% Prefer Nicki

Sorry Lil' Kim, but it looks like there's a new queen of rap. After more than 1,000 votes, the Nickster came out on top by about 10%. Kim might have the advantage of getting there first, but she's clearly no longer in vogue. In Kim's favor, she's got quite a fan base for someone who hasn't released anything since 2005. Maybe if she ever puts another album out, she'll be able to take her position back. Rumor has it a new album is planned for this year. We'll believe it when we see it.



Lil' Kim Loses the Youth

Lil' Kim biggest hurdle was the younger voters. Teens, specifically. A huge proportion of them (78%) voted for Nicki Minaj, and while support dropped off quickly as voters got older, that teen vote was strong enough to take Kim down. Teens and young adults made up about 60% of the total votes.

Men Pass on Minaj

Gender also created a notable division, though it wasn't nearly as telling as age. Men leaned toward Kim by a small margin, while only a third of women voted for her. But again, the numbers were on Nicki's side, as there were twice as many female votes on this poll.

The Working Class Prefers Lil' Kim

Now this could just be connected to the age thing, but employment status correlated with votes, as well. Only 39% of full-time workers prefered Nicki, while part-time workers were split and 68% of the unemployed were on Nicki's side.


If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about Lil' Kim and Nicki Minaj. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Salonje 2012/02/21 17:03:14
    Salonje
    +7
    I think she is talented but definately a swagger jacker. People need to be creative and come up with their own style. Lil' Kim was the original so she still holds a place in my heart for that only.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Jack Mastrangelo 2012/08/27 20:45:19
    Jack Mastrangelo
    +2
    Nicki all the way!!! I dont understand why lil kim is dissing her, Nicki was inspired by Lil kim, why would she do that?!?!
  • MCA 2012/07/16 13:22:26
    MCA
    +2
    lil kim is a hustler baby nicki minaj is new but like any other artist she will get old at the end i always go old school LIL KIM has always been FIRST GET IT RIGHT CHICAS!!!
  • Straigh Cash Cash 2012/05/03 21:38:06
  • keyera 2012/03/07 19:46:09
    keyera
    +1
    i think lil kim is old news and nicki took over
  • Giggles94 2012/03/03 16:13:00
    Giggles94
    Im a fan of Nicki but i think their a little to old to have "Beef" and should jus do what they do and get their money
  • Pocahontas 2012/02/28 19:52:30
    Pocahontas
    Neither really but still Lil Kim looks a little better to me.
  • DARK QUEEN 2012/02/27 20:17:00
    DARK QUEEN
    i think Nicky Minaj cuz she got the thang
  • Racin'Chick225 2012/02/26 23:19:27
    Racin'Chick225
    +2
    if they were both gone, music would be better.
  • Khawla 2012/02/26 11:41:44
    Khawla
    +1
    lol bothare idk
  • budgerigar42 2012/02/25 21:53:22
    budgerigar42
    +1
    Meh. I don't like both.
  • jjjjjjj 2012/02/25 17:52:15
    jjjjjjj
    +3
    1000 votes? my highschool had over 2000 people in it... get real
  • AskingMichelle 2012/02/25 16:38:07
    AskingMichelle
    +1
    i don't like either
  • Bob DiN 2012/02/25 16:05:03
    Bob DiN
    I'm not a fan of either of them.
  • Shaheen 2012/02/25 12:58:55
    Shaheen
    +1
    Brooklyn home of the greatest rappers B.I.G comes first and Queens come after... now put your lighters up
  • boiyaza 2012/02/25 00:31:21
  • Bob DiN boiyaza 2012/02/25 16:05:44
    Bob DiN
    Agreed!
  • confused banana 2012/02/24 12:44:09
    confused banana
    +3
    i think that they are both complete tossers.
  • Bob DiN confuse... 2012/02/25 16:05:58
    Bob DiN
    Agreed!
  • confuse... Bob DiN 2012/03/09 08:18:08
    confused banana
    nice to see someone who shares my opinion..
  • Bob DiN confuse... 2012/03/09 08:18:59
    Bob DiN
    +1
    Me also.
  • Corsair 2012/02/24 03:15:27
    Corsair
    +1
    In all fairness I respect what Nicki Minaj does. But give me a freakin break. Really? The first female rapper since 2003? I think the only female rapper since 2003. I don't know one other female rapper that has come out. Lil Kim was among the elite rappers of the 90's. Not just because she's female, but because she was also surrounded by other female rappers of her time too; Foxy Brown, Missy Elliott, Da Brat, Charlie Baltimore, Trina, Lisa "Left Eye" Lopez, and sure why not, Queen Latifah. Do any of these teens know that Queen Latifah was once a rapper? So of course Lil Kim has seen tougher competition because she had to battle the charts with females, and males alike. Which means it's time to incorporate more female rappers back into the game to give the hip-hop nation some competition.
  • Noel Corsair 2012/04/20 23:54:13
    Noel
    +1
    Kids need to realize what real talent is like lil kim. Nikki minaj starts to spit lyrics but then sounds like shes comstipated at the end of any sentence. The whole beef thing between those 2 is crazy. Lil kim answer back to nikki diss is black friday is a 5 minute song, nikki comeback Is only a min tops with 15 seconds of her basically enlongating one word. All I ask is for artist to use their true voice and dont rely on autotune to make their career.
  • Liliana 2012/02/24 00:51:17
    Liliana
    I'm a fan of both. I think these ladies need to just set their differances aside and earn their pay
  • Luver 2012/02/23 23:25:45
    Luver
    +1
    I think Nicki is a lot less rude. She's loud and can come off a little disturbed at times, but she's no where near the level of tactless and obnoxious Lil' Kim is.
  • Lito Degod 2012/02/23 07:21:18
    Lito Degod
    +1
    i like nicki!!!....shes more lyrical than kim
  • Sarah Lito Degod 2014/02/06 04:24:31
  • The Aging Yankee Liberal Do... 2012/02/23 02:46:43
    The Aging Yankee Liberal Douche
    +1
    nicki minaj is annoying... at least lil kim isnt
  • shawndre 2012/02/22 16:24:23
    shawndre
    +2
    lil kim is strictly jealous of nick minaj sucess and lil kim can spit but nicki spits more harder now if they work together maybe everyone wouldn't be confused on who's better.but nicki minaj is the new queen no matter what she do.
  • Seeker of Truth - War Wizard 2012/02/22 15:54:05
    Seeker of Truth - War Wizard
    +2
    Ever heard her sing without Autotune? *shudder*
  • smitty Seeker ... 2012/02/22 16:22:41
    smitty
    Isn't Autotune common place these days? My kids listen to the junk on the radio. At night, the "artist" will be doing a live performance and my ears bleed listening to them. I say something to my kids and they say " yeah they always sound better on the radio, they are pretty bad".
  • Seeker ... smitty 2012/02/22 18:52:27
    Seeker of Truth - War Wizard
    +2
    Yep, I hate the fact that so many "artists" rely on it now.. But there are still some who can actually sing without the aid. I don't like to use the phrase "back in my day..." but it fits here!
  • smitty Seeker ... 2012/02/22 19:04:38
    smitty
    +2
    Ha!... I haven't seen it, but I listen to talk radio more or my old cd's and (gasp) 8 track! You should see the look on my kids face when I pull out Ozzy in 8-track.
  • KoAm 2012/02/22 15:47:07
    KoAm
    +3
    This is sort of like discussing whether having a root canal is better than having a major case of hemorrhoids.
  • Jordan Wardell 2012/02/22 15:38:20
    Jordan Wardell
    +3
    They're both horrible. And Minaj is just trying to be a black Lady Gaga anyways.
  • brandi Jordan ... 2012/02/23 19:28:17
    brandi
    +1
    i agree with that!!!her plastic padded azz!
  • Jackie 2012/02/22 14:49:49
    Jackie
    +1
    nicki is talented and i like her music
  • Aksana 2012/02/22 12:56:37
    Aksana
    +1
    Nicky is so talented and she knows what she's doing...l love her
  • Aader 2012/02/22 12:11:44
  • *StarDust_LNC*~In Nothing I... 2012/02/22 09:25:14
  • Deborah 2012/02/22 09:03:49
    Deborah
    +1
    Both are 50% plastic and silicone. Who really cares. Sorry

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/08/28 06:29:44

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals