Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 'Hunger Games: Catching Fire' Is the Most Anticipated Movie of 2013

Film 2012/08/28 22:00:00
Next year is still a few months away, but there are already a handful of exciting movies on the horizon for 2013. We've got a healthy selection of superhero movies, including the third "Iron Man" installment, as well as sequels to "Star Trek" and "The Hunger Games." There's also an intriguing samurai flick called "47 Ronin" due out next year. Our friends at Ranker wanted to know which movie was getting the most buzz from the public.



"Catching Fire," "Iron Man 3," and "47 Ronin" all came pretty close, but the sequel to last year's "Hunger Games" eked out a 3% win. It shouldn't come as a surprise, since the hype from the first movie hasn't had time to settle. It's also likely benefiting from the same force as "Harry Potter" and "Twilight": books. Whether fans read the book before or after seeing the movie, it's too late now. The hook's in deep.

Girls Love 'The Hunger Games'

"Hunger Games" isn't quite as girly as, say, "Twilight," but it does seem to attract the girls a lot more than guys. When we broke down the responses by gender, we found that female voters were more than three times as likely to pick "Catching Fire." Nearly half of them (48%) picked it compared to just 15% of males.

No 'Star Trek' for the Next Generation

Despite the overwhelmingly positive response to J.J. Abrams' 2009 "Star Trek" film, there was very little interest in the sequel. At first we thought maybe the films were just spaced too far apart, and hype had died down. However, when we looked at the age breakdown we realized it was primarily young people who ignored it. Only 9% of teens were interested.

Second Opinion: 'Man of Steel'

Of course, those aren't the only four films coming out in 2013. In fact, the Top Opinion wasn't a vote for any of them. It was for "Man of Steel," the long-awaited Superman movie directed by Zack Snyder of "300" and "Watchmen" fame, starring Henry Cavill.


If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about 2013 movies. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Yoru Az... Little Red 2012/08/29 13:50:17
    Yoru Azenia
    +1
    Didn't know anything about a City of Bones movie thanks for the info XD Gotta see that
  • Little Red Yoru Az... 2012/08/29 14:04:20
    Little Red
    +1
    Yeah they've already started filiming it. I've seen some set picture, it looks amazing so far xD.
  • Yoru Az... Little Red 2012/08/29 14:05:21
    Yoru Azenia
    +1
    lol well I guess I have 3 films to look forward too now Catching Fire, Sea of Monsters, and City of Bones XD
  • Omni 2012/08/29 07:35:45 (edited)
  • mings 2012/08/29 07:21:39
    mings
    I think catching fire will. They're a lot if people who saw the first hunger games movie who hadn't read the books and loved it. I read the book and I was disappointed but I'm still really excited for catching fire!
  • sherjohnlockian 2012/08/29 06:29:49
    sherjohnlockian
    +1
    I freaking love Robert Downey Jr. so I am excited for Iron Man 3...but I also loved The Hunger Games Trilogy...so I am excited for Catching Fire also =)
  • janet 2012/08/29 05:17:02 (edited)
    janet
    I wasn't that WOWED by the first one so I guess I am not really looking forward to another movie : )

    I rather see Resident Evil "After Life" 3D : )
  • lauramaemc 2012/08/29 04:47:51
    lauramaemc
    +3
    My movie of 2013 hands down.
  • Veritas 2012/08/29 04:44:36 (edited)
    Veritas
    +4
    Who does NOT one want to see a teenage girl kick an entire empire's ass?
  • Beat Ma... Veritas 2012/08/29 23:23:29
    Beat Magnum True Hero
    +1
    An Empire run by Donald Southerland no less...
  • (>*~*)>Zombiecat<(*-*<) 2012/08/29 02:58:28
    (>*~*)>Zombiecat<(*-*<)
    +4
    Can't wait for this one. The books are great and the story is something we should all learn from. Unfortunately it is very realistic.
  • Omni (>*~*)>... 2012/08/29 07:36:39
    Omni
    Realistic? HOW!?
  • (>*~*)>... Omni 2012/08/30 00:19:15
    (>*~*)>Zombiecat<(*-*<)
    The oppression. The fight to live in the worst conditions. The ignorance. Read between the lines.... you may find a message.
  • Lady Katze 2012/08/29 02:57:56
    Lady Katze
    +2
    Screw Hunger Games. IRON MAN 3!
  • Sybil 2012/08/29 02:44:51
    Sybil
    IRON MAN!!!!!!
  • OGMGS1 2012/08/29 02:16:20
    OGMGS1
    I'm sure. I just watched the first one for the first time recently and loved it.
  • mings OGMGS1 2012/08/29 07:23:23
    mings
    Did you read the book?
  • OGMGS1 mings 2012/08/29 17:04:07
    OGMGS1
    No I didn't. I don't know why, I just prefer waiting for the movies instead of reading the books. However, I won't rule out reading the 2nd and 3rd Hunger Games books.
  • Yoru Az... mings 2012/08/30 00:54:22
    Yoru Azenia
    I did still enjoyed the movie
  • Jack 2012/08/29 01:33:02
    Jack
    +5
    Hunger Games is really worth watching. May the odds be ever in your favor.
  • Defcon Jack 2012/08/30 01:38:25
    Defcon
    You'll be seeing me sneak some UMPs and a sniper rifle when I get picked for the hunger games
  • Jack Defcon 2012/08/30 11:31:30
    Jack
    May the odds be ever in your favor. While you are at it, don't let other tributes creep up on your with a meat cleaver. Yeeech.
  • Spidey59 2012/08/29 01:16:02 (edited)
    Spidey59
    +2
    we're know when the box office totals come out, and since Marvel said that Iron Man 3 Thor 2 Cap America 2, and Guardians of the Galaxy comes out between 2013 & 214, all being interwoven together for Avengers 2, well with the success of the Avengers did this past summer got me believing that Iron Man 3 is going to be the blockbuster of 2013.

    Iron man 3 Iron man 3
  • Juan Be... Spidey59 2012/08/29 18:23:39
    Juan Belaunde
    Lol
  • angel face 2012/08/29 01:08:22
    angel face
    +2
    Of course the public goes for the crappy movie sequel instead of something good. Well, I guess that's what the world has come to
  • Yoru Az... angel face 2012/08/29 11:54:04
    Yoru Azenia
    +1
    Well honestly I choose Hunger Games because I liked the first one and have hope for this new one (the fact that i'm a fan of the novels doesn't hurt) I don't choose Star Trek because honestly I thought Star Trek was boring (says a lot considering Im a scifi nerd), didn't choose Iron man 3 because there following the same downward slope of the Spiderman films and i didn't choose Man of Steel because I don't trust legendary pictures to make a good Superman movie ever again.
  • angel face Yoru Az... 2012/08/29 19:54:00
    angel face
    The first Hunger Games sucked completely. And I'm not interested in any scifi and none of the other movies interest me anyways, especially not something about the weakest superhero ever. But if something was at the very depths of my list, Hunger Games hands down will never be good.
  • Yoru Az... angel face 2012/08/30 00:58:25
    Yoru Azenia
    You may very well not enjoy Hunger Games but that doesn't make us fans dumb or without taste for liking it just like i don't think it makes you dumb or without taste to not like it. (and before you say you never said that no they werent your exact words BUT it was heavily implied)
  • angel face Yoru Az... 2012/08/30 03:03:08
    angel face
    +1
    I never called the fans dumb nor without taste. I just think fans wasted their money on a movie that was in the dumps. And no it wasn't heavily implied. Your mind must be somewhere else because none of my words implied anybody being dumb. At all
  • ellomotto angel face 2012/09/01 04:31:49
    ellomotto
    "Of course the public goes for the crappy movie sequel instead of something good" Really that doesn't imply ANYTHING? And it your opinion that the movie is crappy, to somebody else it could be a good movie.
  • Beanybudd 2012/08/29 01:02:30
    Beanybudd
    For me, hell yes!
  • thє вluє wαndєrєr 2012/08/29 00:45:49
  • NOT14U2 thє вlu... 2012/08/29 00:50:34
    NOT14U2
    Read is better ?
  • thє вlu... NOT14U2 2012/08/29 02:08:30
  • Ronzo thє вlu... 2012/08/29 01:09:21
    Ronzo
    same with me, I'm waiting for the Battle of Armageddon, it will be the Best for sure.
  • Christian 2012/08/29 00:40:37
    Christian
    Hunger Games is one of the best movies I have seen in years, and I am old school.
  • thє вlu... Christian 2012/08/29 02:07:40
  • Christian thє вlu... 2012/08/29 06:47:45
    Christian
    I thought it had a very original story and a great cast. I liked the ending, I did not finish the movie feeling bad. It was a bit off beat but it was original in its style.
  • lovestruck Christian 2012/08/29 07:22:53
    lovestruck
    +2
    I loved hungar games so much I watched it six times and refused to give it back and then I got grounded blurrrrggghhhhhh I can't wait till catching fire so excited
  • mings lovestruck 2012/08/29 07:25:16
    mings
    +2
    I liked it too! I was just bummed, it's not nearly as good as the books!

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/08/01 14:17:36

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals