Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 'Harry Potter' Should Have Been Nominated for Best Picture

Film 2012/02/09 21:10:11
In the last decade, the "Harry Potter" franchise has released eight films -- all of which were box office phenomenons. It's the highest-grossing film series of all time, with more than $7 billion in sales, and not a single one flopped. In spite of all that, none of the films received a single Academy Award. They've been frequently nominated for art direction, costume design, original score, cinematography, makeup and visual effects -- but didn't even win those. The final film in the series, "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2," is in the same position, and star Daniel Radcliffe voiced his disappointment. So we asked SodaHeads if the film should have at least been nominated for Best Picture.

Should 'Harry Potter' Have Been Nominated for Best Picture?



71% Think It Deserved a Nomination

After everything the series has done for the entertainment industry, you'd think it would get a nomination. It doesn't even have to win, but a little recognition would be nice. The Top Opinion also added that Alan Rickman, who plays Severus Snape in all eight films, deserves a nomination for Best Supporting Actor. He's won an Emmy, been nominated for a Tony, and was easily the most-loved character in the series, despite his ambiguity throughout much of it. "Harry Potter" might not have the artistic clout of films like "A Beautiful Mind" or "No Country for Old Men," but it's a shame the series will go down without a single Best Picture nomination.



Women Want that Oscar Nod

Though both genders voted in favor of it, women were way more likely to think "Harry Potter" deserved a nomination -- 30% more likely, in fact. That could imply that "Harry Potter" is more popular with females, or it could simply mean female fans are more passionate about the series. (No wonder Radcliffe fell into bed with some of them.)

'Potter' Is More Popular With the Youth

Gender wasn't the only major divider. There were plenty of secondary demographics, like employment and relationship status, that appeared to have a strong correlation with results, but they all trace back to age. People under the age of 25 are significantly more likely to think "Harry Potter" is Oscar-worthy.

Christians Concede

We remember a time when "Harry Potter" was a point of contention for religious advocates. The series' association with wizards and magic made religious parents suspicious. Christians are still less likely to call for an Oscar nod, but more likely than men or older voters.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about "Harry Potter" and the Oscars. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Balladeer-PWCM-POTL 2012/02/13 06:18:23
    Balladeer-PWCM-POTL
    anyone have , as a place of honour, in their DVD library the Film that the socialist elites declared was THE BEST MOVIE IN 1977? i specify the date because that was when Star Wars came out and while it cleared the second tier of awards...the socialist elites didn't think it was the BEST movie of 1977....

    a quick poll, i bet of sodaheads or your neighbors would settle the question..

    What's on YOUR DVD shelf? Star Wars..or Annie Hall?

    It's the same with Potter....30 years from NOW we will have the 30th anniversary series of the Harry Potter saga ..and the Movie considered the VERY BEST of 2012 maybe will be shown on turner Classic Movies (or some such permutation) IF AT ALL...and the fact that whatever the BEST movie will be..will be remembered (maybe) by trivia buffs
  • Jamie 2012/02/11 00:06:02
  • Junichi 2012/02/10 21:26:53
    Junichi
    they certainly deserve it. i loved everything about it from the acting to the special affects to all of the emotion it portrayed :'( it should definitely have won! who won in place where harry potter should have been nominated? >.<
  • laydeelapis 2012/02/10 21:13:47
    laydeelapis
    I don't really like the movies that much personally, but they are better than a lot of movies that have won in past years.
  • The Sane One 2012/02/10 19:35:11
  • overdog001 2012/02/10 18:37:08
    overdog001
    They deserve it more than many others who have won. On the other hand, after seeing some of the trash that won, I'm not sure I'd want to be included in that group. Nyeh, toss up.
  • Khawla 2012/02/10 18:14:34
    Khawla
    for sure yesssssssssssssssssssssssssss...
  • Brandy 2012/02/10 18:12:53
    Brandy
    +1
    yea best in ten years been my favorite the entire journey
  • Jamie Brandy 2012/02/11 00:07:00
  • wulfsong 2012/02/10 18:05:27
    wulfsong
    It deserved both the nomination and the win. The oscars are so elitist that they are not worth paying any attention to.
  • sjalan 2012/02/10 17:56:53
    sjalan
    Yes it should have been as a career accomplishment of both the producers, directors and actors and actoress's.
  • Sarah TH Marshall Switcher 2012/02/10 17:31:53
    Sarah TH Marshall Switcher
    I'm a huge Harry Potter fan. Really enjoyed the books, really enjoyed the movies...but no, this movie should not have been nominated for an Oscar. For one, it was a two part movie- you can't very well nominate the second half of a film. They were enjoyable movies, a great thrill for the audience and fans, but none of them were really academy award winning films. Now the performances in some of them? Definitely Oscar quality.
  • sharebear817 2012/02/10 15:55:55
    sharebear817
    Harry Potter was the best movie I saw last year! it should have been nominated!
  • moonsong 2012/02/10 15:21:47
  • Scott 2012/02/10 15:06:10
    Scott
    +2
    It's more deserving of an academy award than the bloody Twilight films, that's all I can say.
  • angel face 2012/02/10 14:01:22
    angel face
    +3
    Harry Potter shouldnt have been nominated. THANK GOD FOR THAT ONE
  • Anna E 2012/02/10 13:51:52
    Anna E
    I guess the Potter people didn't campaign hard enough for an award. The Awards Council added regulations since last year, but the regs are not that constraining.
    http://www.oscars.org/press/p...
  • ldude893 2012/02/10 12:18:53
    ldude893
    +1
    The Academy Awards for Best Picture are for well-done films, not for popular films. Sure, popular films are often the great ones, but I can make a list of popular movies that have been deservingly panned by critics, i.e. Twilight and Transformers.

    Star Wars, Citizen Kane or Pulp Fiction never recieved an Oscar for best picture either, so stop complaining. Just because a film doesn't recieve Best Picture doesn't make it any less legendary or any less great.
  • Red_Horse 2012/02/10 12:02:35
  • OnyxRaven 2012/02/10 10:56:33
    OnyxRaven
    This is nothing short of a travesty.
  • sundance 2012/02/10 08:17:09 (edited)
    sundance
    +2
    There have been many a great movie snubbed by the academy, and undoubtedly there will be more. The truth is that Harry Potter was a well done series of books, made into a well done series of movies. One, movie series virtually never do well at the Academy Awards, and fantasy movies, nearly as often, make a less than stellar showing to boot. Now was Harry Potter worthy? Probably. Did it have elements that were deserving of an Academy Award? Who really knows what the jerk offs at the Oscars think. Did it deserve to be snubbed? Absolutely not. It delivered quite nicely, up to its promise, gave an impressive story line, and had what will be remembered as some very memorable performances. Unfortunately, the real truth is that Harry Potter is a fantasy flick, be it a brilliant one, and as we all know, fantasy flicks get snubbed...Just a thought...
  • Hollis ... sundance 2012/02/10 09:32:51
    Hollis Carroll
    perfectly put.
  • ldude893 sundance 2012/02/10 12:53:08 (edited)
  • sundance ldude893 2012/02/11 03:02:27
  • Cassi 2012/02/10 07:55:12
    Cassi
    They've done so well. I think they really deserve something.
  • sundance Cassi 2012/02/10 12:48:19
    sundance
    Fortunately, as Daniel Radcliffe put it. "We get paid stupid amounts of money for this"...
  • SteveMarine- JLA 2012/02/10 07:13:24
    SteveMarine- JLA
    No...
  • Tom Riddle's fangirl 2012/02/10 06:21:23
    Tom Riddle's fangirl
    +1
    They def. deserve it. There are many good pictures.

    Oh, yeah, and how come ALAN RICKMAN wasn't nominated?????
  • (>*~*)>Zombiecat<(*-*<) 2012/02/10 06:20:49
    (>*~*)>Zombiecat<(*-*<)
    +1
    Yes it should have but who cares about those stupid awards??? Harry Potter is better than that.
  • bye im out sodahead 2012/02/10 05:29:11 (edited)
    bye im out sodahead
    +1
    here ill give him one and the best Picture goes go to Harry Potter. thereHappy now stop crying . thankyouthankyou im so happy and very rich so thankyou for this award
  • Hollis ... bye im ... 2012/02/10 09:33:12
    Hollis Carroll
    +1
    hahahahaha!
  • Jimmy Lucky 2012/02/10 04:39:06
    Jimmy Lucky
    Everyone worked very hard...is that the way our world works today...?
  • Rebecca 2012/02/10 04:12:42
    Rebecca
    +2
    they really deserved a freakin win!!! at least a nomination!! they seriously changed the way millions of people think!! they didnt make half a theme park dedicated to the franchise for no reason!!!(if the pictures show up, i took these there! i didnt want to leave the park, i fell in love with it!)
    harryP
    hogwartsexpress
    castle
  • (>*~*)>... Rebecca 2012/02/10 06:14:59
    (>*~*)>Zombiecat<(*-*<)
    +1
    I wanna go there!
  • Black Mohawk Man 2012/02/10 03:31:36
    Black Mohawk Man
    Yes it is the greatest movie series in history!!
  • MIRANDDAAA :) 2012/02/10 02:42:33
    MIRANDDAAA :)
    +1
    At the very least, Alan Rickman should have been nominated for Best Supporting Actor. He did an amazing job in the last film.
  • jada 2012/02/10 02:14:51
    jada
    +1
    OH FRENKEN YEAH I BET THEY KNOW IT! IM SEXY AND I KNOW IT HARRY POTTER
  • Lee The Hybrid Snowflake 2012/02/10 02:11:20
    Lee The Hybrid Snowflake
    It should have at the least been nominated.
  • Kiki,Pixie,Worm 2012/02/10 01:25:35
    Kiki,Pixie,Worm
    I really don't like Harry Potter. PEOPLE STOP TELLING ME THAT I NEED TO JUST GO OVER IT ONE MORE TIME I GAVE IT A SHOT AND FOR ME IT PRETTY MUCH SUCKED.
  • Charmed... Kiki,Pi... 2012/02/10 08:10:28
    Charmedtears♥
    +1
    If you don't like it, then you don't like it no big deal.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/10/24 23:57:06

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals