Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 'Harry Potter' Is the Greatest Fantasy Franchise

Film 2012/03/26 13:00:00
Some critics are comparing "The Hunger Games" to "The Twilight Saga" in light of ticket sales... But for some "Hunger Games" fans, that almost seems like an insult, doesn't it? You can pretty much narrow down the great fantasy film franchises to a handful of titles, so we pitted "Hunger Games" and "Twilight" against the other heavy-weights to determine the best fantasy franchise. We received well over 2,500 votes.



Well, to answer our initial question, "The Hunger Games" is approximately 2.3 times as popular as "Twilight," so Suzanne Collins and company are likely to have a long and prosperous run for the rest of the film-adapted series. Maybe they'll sever "Mockingjay" into five separate films to keep it going. Whatever the case, neither took the top spot. That honor went to J. K. Rowling's "Harry Potter" series, which has been captivating audiences in book and film formats for 15 years now. It's not quite as old as J. R. R. Tolkien's "The Lord of the Rings" or C. S. Lewis' "The Chronicles of Naria" (by the way, what's with all the initials?), but "Harry Potter" is undeniably the most popular fantasy series around. Props to Collins for such a close call, though!

'Hunger Games' Only Popular With Teens

Though "The Hunger Games" did come within 2% of "Harry Potter" in the overall, a good deal of that support came from teens. Nearly a third of teens voted for "The Hunger Games" (31%), while the rest of the age groups averaged just 11%. That could mean older folks are less aware of "The Hunger Games," or that Collins' series is more of a fad.

Men Prefer 'Lord of the Rings'

"Harry Potter" wasn't the top dog all around. In fact, it fell short on a rather large demographic... Men. While only 15% of female voters went with the "Lord of the Rings" franchise, it took a majority in the male vote with 30%. Sure, there are some epic battles in "Harry Potter," but they aren't quite as "manly" as the battles in "Lord of the Rings."

'Star Wars' Strikes a Certain Age

It was a little bit sad to see "Star Wars" do so poorly in the poll, but it did have a small victory in the age demographics. The 25-34 group favored George Lucas' masterpiece, and though "Lord of the Rings" took the lead in the 35-44 group, "Star Wars" still had 31% of the vote. In short, "Star Wars" fans are predominantly in their early 30s.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about the best fantasy franchise. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • oceanraptor 2013/03/05 05:57:11
    oceanraptor
    +1
    I wasn't surprised by LOTR being more popular with men. I've also noticed that LOTR fans tend to have different personalities from HP fans, on average.
  • Rebecca Louise 2012/04/04 23:10:53
    Rebecca Louise
    +1
    well it sure is!!!
    potter head for life!! <33
  • Brad 2012/04/01 11:54:37
    Brad
    I'll take Star Wars or Lord of the Rings, but seriously, Hunger Games?
  • Natasha 2012/04/01 02:20:45
    Natasha
    +1
    Yes, Harry potter is the best....
  • Jan Nel 2012/03/31 14:06:49
    Jan Nel
    Umm...o.....kay.
  • MissGates 2012/03/30 01:48:24
    MissGates
    +1
    Harry Potter <3
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/03/29 17:52:21
    Margaret Jacobson
    never read or watched "harry potter"...........just not interested!!!
  • Wendy 2012/03/28 08:31:57
    Wendy
    +2
    Harry Potter ! (:
  • Nanette King 2012/03/27 19:16:26
    Nanette King
    I am not able to comment on this subject as yet. I'll have to watch them all and compare. I myself am a big Star Wars Fan and have yet to find any of the other Movies that have come out since to top it.
  • darth maul 2012/03/27 18:19:56
  • Krissy darth maul 2012/03/27 18:39:52
    Krissy
    +2
    U mad?
  • Mateo Krissy 2012/03/27 22:14:13
    Mateo
    HeMad.
  • Mateo darth maul 2012/03/27 22:13:59
    Mateo
    Okay, now take the last 3 movies to be made into account. They were truly AWFUL, sapped of all the magic that made the first 3 so great. That makes the franchise average a resounding "Meh".
  • Mateo 2012/03/27 16:45:52
    Mateo
    Star Wars failed because of the prequels. Taken as a single body of work SW dropped to just above Twilight in terms of tolerability, leaving Potter as the obvious winner.
  • Krissy Mateo 2012/03/27 18:43:19
  • Korgull Mateo 2012/03/27 19:48:48
    Korgull
    That still leaves Lord of the Rings, which, in this given competition, should have been the obvious winner, as any actual Fantasy fan would know. Harry Potter ain't bad, but it certainly is not the best Fantasy franchise, nor is it even near the top when compared to many other franchises.

    In terms of popularity, sure, Harry Potter may very well be the winner, but quality? It's laughable to think someone is stupid enough to think Harry Potter is better than Lord of the Rings. Chronicles of Narnia alone would have given Potter a run for its money. And, again, that's only considering the franchises in question.
  • Mateo Korgull 2012/03/27 22:12:50
    Mateo
    I really enjoyed LOTR the first few times through, but they honestly have NOT aged well. The effects already look dated and cheesy- unlike SW 4-6 (though the prequels have the same visual effects issues that LOTR has) and any of the Potter flicks. Take a day to rewatch 'em. If you see what I see we'll agree, if not then you'll have watched some of your favorite movies, right?
  • Cathy 2012/03/27 16:38:58
    Cathy
    +2
    "CONGRATULATIONS GOES TO "HARRY POTTER" FOR THE HIGHEST GROSSING MOVIE FRANCHISE"!!!
  • Franie 2012/03/27 16:03:48
    Franie
    I still think THG should not have been included. I said it in the poll and I'll say it again, THG is more of science fiction than fantasy. It's set in the future, not in another world, and there are no unicorns or vampires or anything like that, just genetically engineered mutts.
  • ♌βļąƈʞƦơșƐ3033♌ 2012/03/27 15:46:55
  • Zamboni - Madoka Magica fan... 2012/03/27 15:41:03
    Zamboni - Madoka Magica fan BN0
    +4
    Well, HP deserves the title for it's quality.
  • Ketel-One 2012/03/27 14:51:49
    Ketel-One
    +3
    Haryy Potter <3
  • JackoClubs 2012/03/27 14:45:17
    JackoClubs
    Star Wars and LOTR, baby!
    Did any of those other flicks win an Oscar for Best Pic ? I think not!
  • Krissy JackoClubs 2012/03/27 18:46:40
    Krissy
    Well, Star Wars sure didn't.
  • JackoClubs Krissy 2012/03/27 18:55:25
    JackoClubs
    No, LOTR did, and Star Wars has lasted quite a while, standing the test of time.
  • freedom 2012/03/27 14:24:14
    freedom
    Honestly, I think there is NO comparison between these. Hunger Games, Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings are based on WELL KNOWN BOOKS! That plays a big difference in how they are viewed in a FANTASY genre.
  • Lucy Sparkles :3 2012/03/27 12:57:35
  • Scott 2012/03/27 11:55:32
    Scott
    +2
    My vote would have to go for Lord of the Rings. Isn't the hunger games technically science fiction?
  • Franie Scott 2012/03/27 15:58:15
    Franie
    That's what I said when I voted!
  • Krissy Scott 2012/03/27 18:47:12
    Krissy
    +1
    So is Star Wars.
  • Scott Krissy 2012/03/28 12:34:03
    Scott
    Star Wars strikes me as being science fantasy.
  • LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH 2012/03/27 11:55:16
    LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH
    +3
    CONGRATULATIONS, HARRY POTTER WON THE-BEST-FANTASY FRANCHISE!

    How much money has the Harry Potter franchise made? The KGB Agent answer: Harry

    Potter Movies have grossed $1,705,809,842 in the US and $5,390,673,968 worldwide!

    How much money has JK Rowling made from the Harry Potter books?

    About £510,000,000, or $1,000,000,000.

    How much money has JK Rowling made from the Harry Potter franchise?

    No one knows the real amount. But an estimate around 1 Billion...
  • Feria~Badass of PHAET~ 2012/03/27 10:22:25
    Feria~Badass of PHAET~
    +4
    The facts speak for themselves.

    The Harry Potter books have sold more, a single Harry Potter movies has grossed more at the box offices... you just can't ignore that.

    I think 'The Hunger Games' is just a fad. They're ok, but not really all that good.
  • lara 2012/03/27 09:45:06
    lara
    +2
    In my opinion, Harry Port is the greatest fantacy franchise. In fact, I see a few fantacy series, but Harry Port is my favourite.
  • Selketskiss 2012/03/27 09:08:17
    Selketskiss
    +1
    No, Star Wars, Back To The Future, Narnia, Lord of The Rings are better
  • The_Infidel_Atheist 2012/03/27 08:24:32 (edited)
    The_Infidel_Atheist
    +3
    These franchises are better!

    the matrix
    back to the future
    battlestar galactica
  • Krissy The_Inf... 2012/03/27 18:48:34
    Krissy
    The Matrix?? Don't make me laugh.
  • Lena Jo... The_Inf... 2012/03/30 18:01:13
    Lena Johansson
    +1
    I wouldn't really consider The Matrix a fantasy franchise. It's more Sci-fi.
    Even though I personally prefer The Matrix and LotR, I'm still happy that it was anything but Twi-crap that won
  • ~HopelessRomanticM17~ 2012/03/27 07:33:49
    ~HopelessRomanticM17~
    +3
    WHAT THE HELL

    Narnia below Twilight?!!? WHAT IS THAT!
  • Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄ƷTisdragonflyƸ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ
    +1
    Now this Hunger Games to me , I seen some clips just because they have said Jackson Rathbone in it but it is Nothing like Twilight firstly. Secondly, that being said it's not better then Harry Potter My fiance hates Harry Potter Yet I love it because I'm half british and half irish and american born here in america, so I love british films. This hunger games is not like Harry Potter, it's not like Star Wars which I also have loved for over 25 years even as a kid. If it wasn't for Harry Potter I would have never started watching Rob Pattison in Twilight because I liked Rob Pattison and recalled him in Harry Potter. I did not want Rob in the beging to play in Twilight I actually was a huge Hayden Christensen fan and that's how I got watching Twilight. I wrote fan fiction for Star Wars and the kids did not get my writings, I'm a dark shadows generations fan and like vampires . One of the kids told me to try Twilight. That's how I got my finace hooked on Twilight. We really do not want to watch the Hunger Games, it boarders on cannablism to us. Its not vampiric. And It's not romantic.It reminds me of Lord of the Flies with B. Getty growing up or that show I hate Silence of the Lambs. Which I don't like at all. But have watched once no way .. Yuck turn off.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/11/01 10:36:00

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals