Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Coachella Isn't Worth the Money

Music 2012/01/12 14:00:00
Coachella is easily one of the largest music festivals in the world right now. If you were going to call anything the "modern equivalent of Woodstock," this would be it. Tickets sell out in a flash, despite exorbitant prices, and the event usually draws the most critically acclaimed and innovative bands out there. This year's big acts include Radiohead, The Black Keys, Bon Iver, Florence and the Machine... The list goes on. Point is, for music fans and -- dare we say it? -- hipsters everywhere, Indio is a temporary Mecca. But it's certainly not for everyone, as the results to our poll clearly showed.

Is Coachella Worth the Money?



65% Would Rather Spend Their Money Elsewhere

Yes, Coachella sells out almost instantly months before the event, and yes, that is one "epic" lineup. But the truth is, it doesn't take a large percentage of people to make something a hit. Over the course of the two-weekend event there will be hundreds of thousands in attendance, at most, and probably several million wishing they could go. But that's still a tiny fraction of the population. Our results found that about one third of voters think Coachella is worth the $285 admission. The rest could care less.



Old Folks Aren't Interested

The most obvious demographic to look at here is age, though, as we'll see in the next section, it wasn't the most telling. Younger voters were definitely more into it, but the break was probably a little higher than you'd think. The 35-44 range was only 7% behind young adults (who were at 50%). But after 44, there was an enormous drop in interest.

Atheists Abound

We were a little surprised to find that atheists were even more into Coachella than any age group. Sure, some of the groups are a little on the irreverent side, but we're not talking about Burning Man. 24% of Christians did think it was worth the money, which is more than the over-45 group.

Moderates More Than Most

Since atheists were so interested, we thought maybe progressives would be, too. Not so. Progressives were only 15% more into it than conservatives. Liberals, 20% more. The real supporters were moderates. 50% of them think Coachella is worth the money, 36% more than conservatives and 21% more than progressives.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about Coachella. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • jacob crim 2012/01/13 02:38:02
    jacob crim
    +6
    Well it would seem that the majority of people on this site have kinda crap taste in music, so that doesnt surprise me. The headbangers ball more to your liking?

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Diddy 2012/01/19 16:54:22
    Diddy
    Dunno about this year, but I trekked from the midwest to Indio two years in a row to see the likes of bands that you will have a hard time seeing live locally - i.e. Bauhaus, New Order who also performed a few Joy Division tracks, Depeche Mode, and Daft Punk. 180 bands playing in two days for less than $200 bucks?? Totally worth it.

    Diddy   Coach 2006
  • Amy.[: 2012/01/18 21:35:07
    Amy.[:
    Yeah
  • Arinn 2012/01/18 20:28:16
    Arinn
    no thanks
  • Somkey the Hores 2012/01/18 05:21:18
    Somkey the Hores
    Kiddie bands, all.
  • ►Cesar◄ 2012/01/16 01:49:13
    ►Cesar◄
    +1
    maybe if you are young and dont know really good bands
  • Chris 2012/01/14 20:00:27
    Chris
    +2
    Not worth the money to me.
  • jacob crim 2012/01/13 02:38:02
    jacob crim
    +6
    Well it would seem that the majority of people on this site have kinda crap taste in music, so that doesnt surprise me. The headbangers ball more to your liking?
  • Saad Ashraf 2012/01/13 02:35:56
    Saad Ashraf
    I would go to Coachella to see Calvin Harris, Dada Life, Alesso, Avicii, Porter Robinson, Zedd but I rather wait for Electric Zoo or Electric Daisy Carnival :D
  • cin Saad As... 2012/01/13 17:49:43
    cin
    and flux pavillion!!
  • I NEED A HORSE 2012/01/13 02:17:31
  • GirlGoingGreen 2012/01/13 01:22:15 (edited)
    GirlGoingGreen
    I know basically every band going to Coachella. They have in recent years had AWESOME line-ups. It would be my dream to go there!! But unfortunately, I would never spend that amount of money on a festival, unless I somehow I become wealthy in my 20s.
  • Jesse M... GirlGoi... 2012/01/13 02:43:54
    Jesse McEachran
    +4
    I'll bring you :-P
  • Vieuphoria 2012/01/13 00:15:43
    Vieuphoria
    Then all of those people are wrong.
  • Cellar Door 2012/01/12 23:52:11
    Cellar Door
    I looked at the lineup and the only two I actually know are Flux Pavillion and Mt. Eden. o_o'
  • Saad As... Cellar ... 2012/01/13 02:37:28 (edited)
    Saad Ashraf
    Dude dubstep is so lame, every producer sounds the same except Skream, James Blake, and Skrillex. -_-
    Electro House is 100x better than dubstep.
  • Cellar ... Saad As... 2012/01/13 03:57:56
    Cellar Door
    Dude, just because they both happen to be dubstep doesn't mean that dubstep isn't the only thing I listen to. Those are actually the only dubstep artists I even like. Skrillex isn't even that good. The only one of his songs that are even somewhat good is Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites.
  • Korgull Saad As... 2012/01/13 05:46:19
    Korgull
    +1
    Skrillex and co. are a bunch of trendy, generic Brostep artists..
    Yet they're the ones you bother to name as exceptions..?
  • cin Saad As... 2012/01/13 17:52:01
    cin
    +2
    ohhhh nooo you did not say skrillex is the exception.....or skream...thats not even real dubstep! Shame on you!
  • some idiot who thinks he kn... 2012/01/12 23:50:04
    some idiot who thinks he knows everything
    I know I'd camp outside the camp just to get in there first.
  • alex 2012/01/12 22:08:04
    alex
    I know like...4 of those bands XD
  • Paul Adam 2012/01/12 21:43:34

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/10/25 10:24:22

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals