Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 'Call Me Maybe' Is an Enjoyable Song

Music 2012/06/20 22:00:00
Gotye's nine-week streak at the top of the U.S. charts was finally broken by an unexpected songstress: 26-year-old Carly Mae Jepsen, with what is perhaps the catchiest song of all time, "Call Me Maybe." The song took nine months to get to the top, and it had some help along the way from Justin Bieber, but it's finally managed to turn Jepsen into a household name. We wanted to know how the public really feels about it.



It's not exactly the most... intellectual song on the radio, but it's just so catchy! What more do you want? And unlike Rebecca Black's "Friday," more than half of respondents actually like the song. A lot of respondents who admitted to liking the song were reluctant to do so. One commenter wrote, "I used to hate the song, but after it's been played 500 times every day, it started to grow on me." It's also a rich source of meme-building material, which is always nice.

Girls Really Go for It

Not surprisingly, girls were more likely to enjoy the song -- or should we say, more likely to admit that they enjoy it. Even so, nearly half of the male vote was in favor. Male pride was particularly hesitant to jump on the "Maybe" train, but it's getting there. Maybe after they hear it another 500 times, it will click. Or maybe they'll snap. Or maybe, they'll call you?

Older Voters Aren't Impressed

The older a voter was, the less likely they were to enjoy the song. It appears that older people are immune to catchy pop songs. Is that a good thing or a bad thing? We're not sure. Again, it's probably a matter of exposure. You've got to be subjected to the song enough times to finally either give in, or go crazy.

Parents Want It to Stop

In addition to age, parenthood seems to be a factor in how the song is perceived. In this case, perhaps exposure isn't such a great thing. Listening to the radio with your kids in the car isn't always a pleasant experience, especially if you have to hear the same bubblegum pop song all the time.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about "Call Me Maybe." We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Patrick Drake J... 2012/06/21 02:58:09
    Patrick
    +3
    who's twisting your arm
  • Drake J... Patrick 2012/06/22 21:06:03
    Drake Jonas
    lol none
  • Monique Amanda 2012/06/21 00:36:51
    Monique Amanda
    +5
    gets stuck in my head all the time -___-

    do i enjoy it no....sry it was only good the first time i heard it
  • Defcon 2012/06/21 00:33:41
    Defcon
    +2
    ARE YOU KIDDING ME!! This song is bull compared to Metallica: Enter Sandman, Turn the page. Guns n Roses: Paradise city, welcome to the jungle. Led Zeppelin: Ramble on, rock n roll. And Mötley Crüe: kick start my heart. Listen to these and THESE ARE FROM THE 70s, 80s and are STILL popular. In about 10 years there will be no Justin Bieber, lady GaGa or the other pop artists. But everyone will still remember the rock bands listed above. (Pop is simply dosen't last long) expect for Michael Jackson. (only pop that lasts)
  • Defcon Defcon 2012/06/21 00:35:26
    Defcon
    +2
    Plus I am A VERY heavy supporter of heavy metal and very heavy against pop
  • Billie-... Defcon 2012/06/21 17:18:25
    Billie-Joe Armstrong luvah
    +1
    Same. I just can't resist this song though.
    Btw: Mötley Crüe ftw!!!
  • cupcakes 2012/06/21 00:33:10
    cupcakes
    +5
    Hey I just met you
    Him: And this is crazy
    Him: But I'm on bath salts
    Him: And your face looks tasty

    best one


    hey i just met you
    and this is crazy
    but my name's kony
    I stole your baby
  • Isabella cupcakes 2012/06/21 02:06:16
  • Billie-... cupcakes 2012/06/21 17:19:52 (edited)
    Billie-Joe Armstrong luvah
    Omg those are both so horrible but hilarious
  • pinky204 2012/06/21 00:12:50
    pinky204
    +1
    It is a good song, but it gets annoying after some time
  • harasnicole 2012/06/20 23:56:49 (edited)
    harasnicole
    +4
    It's catchy. I can say the same thing about Justin Bieber and One Direction, neither of which am I a fan.
  • Flowers 2012/06/20 23:48:57
    Flowers
    +3
    Why?????? Is this really where our music is going? After all the talent for centuries, it's finally gotten to the point where people actually enjoy crap like this? /facepalm
  • Defcon Flowers 2012/06/21 00:37:18
    Defcon
    +2
    I'm one of the last few people who hate pop and like 70's/80's heavy metal. Remember, pop dosen't last long but rock does
  • Flowers Defcon 2012/06/21 12:41:02
    Flowers
    I am wondering if it's possible to roll back the music to some classical Mozart or something :) ANYTHING is better than the crap pop we are suffering through now.
  • Defcon Flowers 2012/06/21 14:19:48
    Defcon
    We barley remember the pop of 2000/2001 but we all remember the 70/80s rock. All these new artist will die out but the rock bands will live on
  • aeroshock 2012/06/20 23:30:50
    aeroshock
    +1
    I think the song turned out well, more so, with all the parodies of it. Of course, songs like these become overplayed and the meme just makes it worse.
  • cupcakes aeroshock 2012/06/21 00:34:04
    cupcakes
    +2
    are you talking about these parodies

    hey i just met you
    and this is crazy
    but my name's kony
    I stole your baby
  • aeroshock cupcakes 2012/06/21 04:57:08
    aeroshock
    +2
    Well, I never said all of them.
  • SavingPeopleHuntingThings 2012/06/20 23:09:52
  • Kay 2012/06/20 23:05:49
    Kay
    +1
    It's a cute song. But I would not even as far as to say it is quality music.
  • Rubyking 2012/06/20 22:56:58
    Rubyking
    +2
    it's awesome and catchy
  • Trish 2012/06/20 22:32:38
  • Lisa ♣♦poƃ ƃ... 2012/06/20 22:32:50
    Lisa
    +6
    BEFORE IT LAYS EGGS
  • FrozenHeart 2012/06/20 22:16:54
    FrozenHeart
    +4
    I have a feeling someone is going to make a winy post about how much they hate the mainstream music today and then how great the 90s were or how metal is the "real music."
  • Lisa 2012/06/20 22:15:49
  • Amy Benn Lisa 2012/06/20 22:29:19
    Amy Benn
    +5
    haha gud wan xx
  • HarleyCharley 2012/06/20 22:08:18
    HarleyCharley
    +2
    I like it...

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/08/01 03:58:05

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals