Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 'Call Me Maybe' Is an Enjoyable Song

Music 2012/06/20 22:00:00
Gotye's nine-week streak at the top of the U.S. charts was finally broken by an unexpected songstress: 26-year-old Carly Mae Jepsen, with what is perhaps the catchiest song of all time, "Call Me Maybe." The song took nine months to get to the top, and it had some help along the way from Justin Bieber, but it's finally managed to turn Jepsen into a household name. We wanted to know how the public really feels about it.



It's not exactly the most... intellectual song on the radio, but it's just so catchy! What more do you want? And unlike Rebecca Black's "Friday," more than half of respondents actually like the song. A lot of respondents who admitted to liking the song were reluctant to do so. One commenter wrote, "I used to hate the song, but after it's been played 500 times every day, it started to grow on me." It's also a rich source of meme-building material, which is always nice.

Girls Really Go for It

Not surprisingly, girls were more likely to enjoy the song -- or should we say, more likely to admit that they enjoy it. Even so, nearly half of the male vote was in favor. Male pride was particularly hesitant to jump on the "Maybe" train, but it's getting there. Maybe after they hear it another 500 times, it will click. Or maybe they'll snap. Or maybe, they'll call you?

Older Voters Aren't Impressed

The older a voter was, the less likely they were to enjoy the song. It appears that older people are immune to catchy pop songs. Is that a good thing or a bad thing? We're not sure. Again, it's probably a matter of exposure. You've got to be subjected to the song enough times to finally either give in, or go crazy.

Parents Want It to Stop

In addition to age, parenthood seems to be a factor in how the song is perceived. In this case, perhaps exposure isn't such a great thing. Listening to the radio with your kids in the car isn't always a pleasant experience, especially if you have to hear the same bubblegum pop song all the time.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about "Call Me Maybe." We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Artisan Rose ☽✪☾☥ 2012/07/13 04:09:17
    Artisan Rose ☽✪☾☥
    That song is stupid.
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/06/23 07:14:38
    Fariborz-Zak
    sure
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/06/22 16:38:19
    Margaret Jacobson
    never heard it
  • Stypayhorlikson♥ 2012/06/22 14:27:38
    Stypayhorlikson♥
    Love it:)!♥
  • dorothymarie 2012/06/21 18:17:45
    dorothymarie
    +3
    Catchy? More like annoying.
  • American Mercenary 2012/06/21 18:15:59
    American Mercenary
    +1
    It's a great song to make fun of.
  • kassie ray 2012/06/21 18:12:40
  • LYNN MEYER 2012/06/21 17:24:37
    LYNN MEYER
    +1
    I have never heard the song but the singer is a total fox.
  • Billie-Joe Armstrong luvah 2012/06/21 17:14:40
    Billie-Joe Armstrong luvah
    +1
    Is so cute!!! But the parodys are the funniest.
    Hey i just met you, and this Is crazy! But here's a condom. So fvuck me safely!
    Hey I just met you, and this is crazy. But get in my van! Or I'll kill your family!
    Lmao
  • desi-cakes 2012/06/21 17:10:28
    desi-cakes
    +1
    I hear people singing this alot but that was a week or two after I heard it
  • MaryBoBerry 2012/06/21 16:55:17
    MaryBoBerry
    +2
    Hey I just met you
    and this is crazy
    But I'm a zombie.,.
    I'm gonna nom your babies.
  • kirstie 2012/06/21 16:32:23
    kirstie
    +1
    lov it sooo much
  • Saye Saye 2012/06/21 15:56:12
    Saye Saye
    +1
    Refreshing song.
  • cait 2012/06/21 15:26:20
    cait
    +2
    Ok but not as cool as the music i listen to "Panic! At The Disco
  • kassie ray cait 2012/06/21 18:13:35
    kassie ray
    +1
    agreeing I like ballad of Mona lussa :)
  • Rebel geek. 2012/06/21 15:07:43
    Rebel geek.
    +2
    YES it is enjoyable
    like everyone LUVs that song
  • intolerantrwj 2012/06/21 14:04:05
    intolerantrwj
    +1
    .... catchy tune, cute chic, good lookin' guy .... too bad it fell apart in the end .... bet Sandusky loves it
  • Sam Hutcher-Felton 2012/06/21 12:44:30
    Sam Hutcher-Felton
    +3
    wait wait wait. she's twenty-freaking-six? :O
  • Sam Hutcher-Felton 2012/06/21 12:43:43
  • yg 2012/06/21 12:29:46
    yg
    +1
    Love that song. Can't get it out of my head.
  • Kyle 2012/06/21 11:22:44
    Kyle
    +1
    i never heard the song before
  • cait Kyle 2012/06/21 15:28:32
    cait
    +2
    Well dont listen to Panic! At The Disco
  • Charmedtears♥ 2012/06/21 08:54:50
    Charmedtears♥
    +3
    It's catchy yeah I'm not really bothered by it or jumping with joy when it comes on.
  • Aksana 2012/06/21 08:41:49
    Aksana
    +1
    l like it
  • Crime Time 2012/06/21 08:40:01
  • BABEY GURL 2012/06/21 08:17:16
    BABEY GURL
    +3
    mad as song love it the guy is soooooo HOTTTTTTTTTTTTT
  • BubbaGrrl 2012/06/21 07:38:39
    BubbaGrrl
    +2
    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So call me maybe :P
  • 7 minut... BubbaGrrl 2012/06/21 09:22:16
    7 minutes ago...
    +2
    Sure! ;)
  • BubbaGrrl 7 minut... 2012/06/22 03:43:02
    BubbaGrrl
    +1
    LOL :D haha
  • Soms Cougli 2012/06/21 06:34:37
    Soms Cougli
    +3
    Ergh.
    I loathe that song. I heard the first minute one the radio once, and I turned it off. Ergh.
  • Emily Barrington 2012/06/21 06:09:13
    Emily Barrington
    +2
    ♪Hey I Just met you, n this is crazy♪
  • mr echo Emily B... 2012/06/21 11:15:59
    mr echo
    +2
    delete my number and keep the baby
    whuahhhhh
  • Manic 2012/06/21 05:17:50
    Manic
    +4
    I think it's cute. Not even close to the best song I've heard but enjoyable nonetheless. It's a song that adds such nostalgia to it. Like you remember that feeling of seeing someone cute and just wanting it to go somewhere. It just reminds me of those highschool crushes and those stupid butterflies in your stomach. So it's a good song in the fact that it brings you back to those times. :)
  • Vic F 2012/06/21 03:57:30 (edited)
    Vic F
    +3
    Hmmmm.. Do I like the song?



    Well I guess i have to say yes...not that it's exceedingly great; because it's not. However it does have a hook that will be around for a while.



    I have possibly heard the worst singer ever - and no, he didn't try out for any X-factor or television show.



    he just sounded like a cat who was dying and trying to crawl out of a cage. he sounded really really really really really really really bad.



    So is her song great? no...does she suck? no....



    Will it be a song that lasts as long as Elvis or The Beatles or Frank Sinatra or Michael Jackson? no



    Will it stand the test of time? no...



    will you ever hear worse singers? YES! dead cat
  • Saye Saye Vic F 2012/06/21 18:08:38
    Saye Saye
    +3
    How terrible of you to post this photo. Aweful & shame on you. I find it offensive.
  • Patrick 2012/06/21 02:51:07
    Patrick
    +2
    This SAYS IT ALL, THE ANSwer to this question right here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Patrick Patrick 2012/06/22 23:07:29
    Patrick
    thinks for your raves. RIP Hicks
  • Isabella 2012/06/21 02:04:43
    Isabella
    +5
    Yup. A little outplayed, but still enjoyable.
  • Patrick Isabella 2012/06/21 03:00:31
    Patrick
    +2
    Enjoyable, as a rock in my face. lame. 00000000000000089/////
  • Drake Jonas 2012/06/21 01:21:20
    Drake Jonas
    +3
    it's good

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/09/03 02:34:55

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals