Quantcast

Do you trust the movie reviews from critics?

~Kat 2011/06/26 01:43:05
I have just recently seen probably 3 of the movies in theatres! Bridesmaids,Rio, and Ssomething Borrowed. I enjoyed every single one of them but the critics bashed something borrowed. What are your thoughts?!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • ParkMan 2011/06/30 05:42:51
    ParkMan
    +1
    I figure that most critics are more critical than I need them to be. Frankly, I'm not looking for an Academy Award winning movie every time I go to the theater. Mostly I'm just going for a good time. Seems like many critics forget that.
  • padfoot 2011/06/29 09:25:02
    padfoot
    everyone has different tastes and movie critics can't seem to accept that
  • JAKE~PWCM~JLA 2011/06/27 21:54:24
    JAKE~PWCM~JLA
    I agree with them probably seventy percent of the time.
  • Joe Finsternis 2011/06/27 15:36:47 (edited)
    Joe Finsternis
    I always take other people's opinions into consideration, but if I want to see a movie, I'll see it.
    Right now, I want to see The Blair Witch Project, Cannibal Holocaust, and The Human Centipede; I've heard lots of bad things about all those movies, and I respect others' opinions on them, but I will see these films regardless.
  • James 2011/06/26 23:27:46
    James
    no
    they are wrong most of the time
    I trust my taste
  • kitkat42 2011/06/26 21:43:09
    kitkat42
    I never listen to critics. We rarely agree.
  • Nam Era Vet #1 DNA TLC 2011/06/26 18:24:33
    Nam Era Vet #1 DNA TLC
    No
  • Diana 2011/06/26 17:07:28
    Diana
    We all have different tastes and different kinds of humor.I never pay attention to a review..
  • BackRoadz 2011/06/26 15:14:37
    BackRoadz
    Siskel and Eggbert were two of the worst movie critics out there. I've seen LOTS of movies that they berated and thought that they were good movies. I never trust the opinion of any movie critic because chances are i'll dissagree with them....
  • Garciataria 2011/06/26 14:01:20
    Garciataria
    Only if I feel it doesn't sound biased.
  • RV ~ The Peacekeeper of PHAET 2011/06/26 13:59:05
    RV ~ The Peacekeeper of PHAET
    +1
    I read them and I trust most of them..
  • munda 2011/06/26 13:32:33
    munda
    No, they are a little to snooty about movies for me to even listen to them let alone trust them.
  • Hukaatir 2011/06/26 13:30:34
    Hukaatir
    +2
    No, not typically. Usually they're rating towards the academy awards. I'm just looking for a good time.
  • Jack's Pearl 2011/06/26 13:29:29
    Jack's Pearl
    +1
    They are interesting. But I don't trust that they predict whether or not I will like the movie.
  • baby cakes 826 2011/06/26 12:13:01
    baby cakes 826
    +1
    I initially look at them before i watch a movie, but then tend to make my own opinion
  • KATniss 2011/06/26 11:57:32 (edited)
    KATniss
    +1
    yes i trust them. i will be one too ! haha
    the thing is that they're telling the truth exactly the way it is. there are only a few times that i have "disagree" with the critics reviews. they know better, a lot of things about the cinema and movies etc.
    of course you have your own opinion and you can enjoy whatever movie you like but objective they are right in many things.
  • SebaTheSociallyAwkwardPengu... 2011/06/26 08:13:46
    SebaTheSociallyAwkwardPenguin 平和
    +4
    no, not really, everyones different, and so are theyre opinions on different things.
  • Shawna 2011/06/26 07:49:29
    Shawna
    +4
    I generally don't. If there were a critic I read regularly and tended to agree with then I might. I remember when I was trying to decide whether to go to the theatre to see Eat Pray Love. I googled reviews and pretty much found it was 50/50 for loved it/hated it so I decided to go and I enjoyed it quite a bit. Sometimes it is the comments the critics make that help me to decide. For instance, if a critic said he hated a movie because it was too long, I would consider that long movies usually don't bother me. If he said he loved the movie because it had lots of slapstick action I might not go because I am not much of a fan of slapstick.
  • sglmom 2011/06/26 07:32:56
    sglmom
    +1
    Could care less about what SOMEONE ELSE thinks .. what matters is MY impression based on the trailers and generic info on the movie itself.

    (for example .. To me .. Transformers STANK .. my Nephews Loved it .. Critics rated it well .. but I would have FAILED that movie for sure).
  • Lily Blooms Eternal 2011/06/26 07:30:25
    Lily Blooms Eternal
    +1
    Critics are full of crap most of the time.
  • Xerxes 2011/06/26 07:26:18
    Xerxes
    +2
    we use to have a critic here that was great, she would recommend a movie, then you know not to see it, she gave 5 stars to Cowboy Way
  • Katie 2011/06/26 06:51:31
    Katie
    +1
    Only my local newspaper's critic. We have disturbingly similar tastes in movies.
  • ★~DoctorWhoGuru~★ 2011/06/26 06:25:14
    ★~DoctorWhoGuru~★
    I don't listen to movies critics.
  • Skidplate 2011/06/26 06:13:26
    Skidplate
    +1
    I never trust what the critics say. They usually have opposite taste than me. If they say it stinks I'm probably gonna like it.
  • chyla 2011/06/26 05:43:21
    chyla
    +2
    Okay, here it goes. My boyfriend will NOT see a movie unless it has positive reviews from BOTH Roger Ebert and RottenTomatoes.com.
    I honestly don't care about reviews that much, but I have to now since I only go to movies with my boyfriend.
  • KATniss chyla 2011/06/26 11:59:31
    KATniss
    i agree with your boyfriend haha
  • Jareth Majere 2011/06/26 04:28:30
    Jareth Majere
    I have a few sites that I go to & sort of average them out, to get a decent review
  • fer_reals 2011/06/26 02:49:58
    fer_reals
    +1
    siskel and ebert reviewed karate kid II

    they had obviously not watched the whole film because they didnt understand the significance of the other old guy in the ice breaking scene

    (he was the reason miyagi never married the woman of his dreams and left japan- major character in the movie)

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Entertainment

2014/11/29 09:52:22

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals